Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   64 bit windows compatible with Reason 4.0 ? (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=105553)

omkara 2008-08-08 12:56

64 bit windows compatible with Reason 4.0 ?
 
Apparently 4GB memory will only be acknowledged by a windows 64 bit. Another friend of mine told me that Windows Vista would be suffice. Im a total noob so hence my question, is Reason 4.0 compatible with Windows (either Vista or XP) 64 bit ?

sp0bjogu 2008-08-08 16:58

It sure is. I'm running Reason version 4 on Vista Ultimate x64 with 4 GB RAM and Reason works great.
(Vista on the other hand is another story...)

/sp0

omkara 2008-08-08 19:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by sp0bjogu (Post 582488)
It sure is. I'm running Reason version 4 on Vista Ultimate x64 with 4 GB RAM and Reason works great.
(Vista on the other hand is another story...)

/sp0

Hey that's great to hear, not the Vista part ;)

Would you by any chance also know if, instead of Vista, Windows XP 64 bit would make it possible to make use of the entire 4GB or does it have to be Vista 64 bit to accomplish this ?

chasecan 2008-08-09 23:26

Memory Limits for Windows Releases
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by omkara (Post 582465)
Apparently 4GB memory will only be acknowledged by a windows 64 bit. Another friend of mine told me that Windows Vista would be suffice. Im a total noob so hence my question, is Reason 4.0 compatible with Windows (either Vista or XP) 64 bit ?

I was looking around in hopes of finding a question i have for Reason 3.0 compatablity with winXP Pro 64 or Vista for that matter and ran into this post.

I thought i would post the correct information about Vista and memory:

Vista 64bit Memory specifications
All editions of Windows Vista 64-bit provide increased memory support
beyond the standard 4 gigabytes (GB) available with 32-bit editions.

Specific edition of Windows Vista 64-bit maximum memory capacity as follows:

Windows Vista Edition 64-bit memory support

Home Basic - 8 GB
Home Premium - 16 GB
Ultimate - 128+ GB
Business - 128+ GB
Enterprise - 128+ GB

For Memory Limits for all Windows Releases follow these links

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa366778.aspx - Main page

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...(printer).aspx - Printer friendly version

rcryniak 2008-08-10 04:56

Memory limits, 64-bit windows... hooo rahhh
 
Hey, just FYI - I have it working in Windows XP Pro x64 and it works absolutely fantastic. No matter which version of Windows, the 32-bit versions can only address 3 GB by individual applications, and only with the /3gb switch applied to boot.ini. (Otherwise, it's limited to 2gb for app memory.) Technically, however, Windows 32-bit can support the full 4gb... it just reserves half of it for OS functions, which is good, because you can use the FULL 2GB for your app... not share it with the rest of the system. Some versions (Advanced server, etc.) can address even more through special CPU functions.

Bottom line, recent 32-bit versions of Windows (XP, etc.) will allow Reason to use 3GB of RAM. 64-bit versions break that barrier for 32-bit apps, allowing up to 4GB. (More for 64-bit apps.) So, go ahead and use with Windows XP x64 or Vista x64 with confidence!

See Microsoft's answer to the question of memory---> http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/system...AE/PAEmem.mspx

omkara 2008-08-11 22:06

That was all the info i needed rcryniak; now i know what to do. I've been using 2GB with windows xp 32 bit and i wanted to expand my performance possibilities. Just in case and for that extra little kick, i`ll get 64 bit XP ;)

Kind regards,

Omkara

juggaloj69 2008-12-12 21:09

well thank god. im glad SOMTHING will work on this platform. maybe ive gone crosseyed.....you guys did say it will run on vista64bit>>? ive just been reading in and out of so many forums, im not sure what to believe.

Reason1O1 2008-12-12 21:57

I've been seeking more info on all of these issues. Here's a few more little tidbits of info. . .

32-bit O/S actually can use up to 3.24 GB of memory, not only 3.
Reason will run on any O/S platform according to their compatibility faq, but if you have a dual core processor (or quad core if you're lucky), Reason is a single core app. Basically it can only use 1 of your processors, not both. And from what I hear this is no easy task to overcome. But also, not a big deal really, as anything over a 2 GB processor (minimum specs these days) will run reason just fine and without a problem.

hope that helps.
Rob

Slope 2008-12-13 00:09

Quote:

Originally Posted by omkara (Post 582465)
Apparently 4GB memory will only be acknowledged by a windows 64 bit. Another friend of mine told me that Windows Vista would be suffice. Im a total noob so hence my question, is Reason 4.0 compatible with Windows (either Vista or XP) 64 bit ?

Guys, I'm no PC freak, so please don't trust me on this one...

I've been told that even though Vista will not recognise anything beyond 3 GB RAM, there seem to be applications (Photoshop apparently being one of them) that can use the whole 4 GB. If that's so, then this would raise the question if Reason is one of these applications.

However, now that I've installed Vista's SP1, my system particulars show 4 GB Memory. This kind of got me assuming that Microsoft will have removed this limitation.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:45.