Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   are mac's better than pc's for music production? (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=129358)

auschris 2010-09-01 04:25

are mac's better than pc's for music production?

are mac's better than pc's for music production?

Hi all, i am looking at upgrading my computer to gain the full potential of reason 5 and record 1.5, i have been using pc's for over 10 years now, however i have been looking into the world of mac's as from my observations generally mac's appear to be more used in the music production world. I am currently trying to decide if i continue with pc's or dive into macs? what are the advantages of using a mac? or is it just all hype?

from what i have seen a basic mac book pro cost around $1500AUS
a pc laptop with similar specs is around $1000AUS

i am not concerned about learning a new os as i have been using windows xp and would have to learn windows 7 anyway.

any help would be great.

Chris

penguinoid 2010-09-01 04:33

http://www.tweakheadz.com/Mac_vs_Pc_DAWS.htm
this might help!

Benedict 2010-09-01 04:38

Macs are pretty. They do have reputation for reliability and longevity. My old Macs were always very solid machines. My PCs have rerely been quite so robust but I have bought them for cost reasons. Next machine may well be a Mac again.

I don't think there's any clear cut answer here.

:)

nobeahmon 2010-09-01 04:41

Get the Mac. :)

dreampolice 2010-09-01 04:46

Can you do production work and make amazing music on both? Absolutely, each platform has its strengths and weaknesses.