Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   Feature Suggestion Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Record 2.0 as a ReWire Master (plz!) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=131246)

Koshdukai 2010-09-29 19:24

Record 2.0 as a ReWire Master (plz!)
 

That's basically it...
A full implementation of ReWire 2 on Record 2.0 (as a ReWire Master), would allow us to get MIDI-OUT and Audio Input (as well as Audio Output of course) through ReWire to a ReWire Slave application.

Implementing a technology developed by PropellerheadSW (ReWire 2) would avoid supporting more non-PropellerheadSW technologies while avoiding all the VST/AU mess users are afraid will drag Record to the mud if it supported plug-ins directly.

A new ReWire rack Device would provide the needed "hook" between the sequencer track MIDI output and the Audio Send/Return (Out/In) to/from ReWire... or just upgrade the existing "P-LAN" rerouting for the existing Audio and Mix rack Devices.

So... if PropellerheadSW themselves won't make that lightweight hybrid ReWire Slave + VST/AU host application, any other clever software company would grab this opportunity to make it with MIDI-OUT (simply rerouting to a MIDI port what's sent from Record through ReWire) AND support for a VST Hosting rack, where VST instruments and Effects would receive MIDI and/or Audio and send the Audio back through ReWire.

Those that don't like or don't need VST/AU would simply stay well away from this little lightweight hybrid Slave Host application and go on with their happy lives and those that scream for VST/AU support, would simply jump on it and... be happy (or not, depending on the stability of both this app and the VSTs you use).

One extra feature that might show up, if ReWire Mastering was implemented, would be the possibility of Record 2.0 supporting MIDI-OUT natively, since 90% of the MIDI handling code would have to be in there to support the full ReWire 2 Master feature, so... a couple more code tweaks and Preferences tab could make this happen (I would like to think) :)

dflynn 2010-09-29 21:31

Amen to this. Then I could get Virtual Drumline (Tapspace) sounds into Record.

Droog 2010-09-29 22:39

yes and this application can be called recycle 3 . the ultimate tool for syncing your gear and software instruments and recording and editing them.

i hope they listen to you good post :)

fhercasa 2010-09-29 23:36

thinking of this.
and then develop a mini host with rewire slave support,
to host vst/vsti's in record!, with props quality.

easy:

channel in record mixer to chanel in minihost.

and this solution to get song compatibility between songs.

when creating a final song (for distributing ), or closing a .recsong (or whatever is called ,i cant afford any props product right now ,Im unemployed at the moment so i dont know the extension)
record renders a track of the vst from the mini host , so if you open your project in a host without the plugin, record uses the rendered audio instead.

this is a great idea folks //begging for a free license of record/reason duo.

MattiasHG 2010-09-29 23:56

Not a bad solution if it keeps stability. Nice.

Koshdukai 2010-09-30 00:10

It would:
  • make a statement about the commitment to the ReWire technology
  • avoid messing around with any "foreign" technologies (VST, AU, RTAS, TDM, LADSPA, DSSI, LV2, DirectX, MAS, ...)
  • (finally) provide a two-way door to the outside world (MIDI-OUT/In, simpler Audio internal In and/or Send/Return) instead of the current limiting* MIDI-IN/Audio Out solution provided by the ReWire Slave implementation. (*limiting because ReWired Record can't record or sample, loosing almost half the features it has)

...and like I said, maybe such a feature would also open the door to a native support of MIDI-Out in that same 2.0 release.

Also, who knows? Maybe a future 4th side-kick app would be born: a PropellerheadSW made Reason-like Rack for plug-ins running as a ReWire-slave... but even if this one never becomes a reality, at least there would still be plenty of 3rd party solutions to bridge the gap between Record and the plug-in wars... erm, I mean, world :D

EDIT: Sure, all of this without ever touching current stability... else forget it :D

dflynn 2010-09-30 23:57

Bump. This is the most important suggestion I've seen on this forum. Well, to me anyway...

Alchemium 2010-10-01 02:49

Quote:

Originally Posted by dflynn (Post 799198)
Bump. This is the most important suggestion I've seen on this forum. Well, to me anyway...

I agree!!!!!!!!!!!

EpicDesign 2010-10-01 04:48

Gonna have to agree with the few folks just above. This feature would indeed change the game in MANY positive ways.

Kosh, you've got a good head on your shoulders. We've talked about this subject quite a bit, and I think this suggestion should be a serious focus for the devs. It would open many doors to those of us who wish to keep Reason and Record as a primary work environment. I myself am one of those people that have little interest in other applications, save for on an limited use basis. I feel this would be very well received by the entire user community, and would really be the icing on the cake that is Record. I feel everything will have finally come full circle in that the Record and Reason package will have become most everything their paying customers have wanted. We would finally have full control over other software, and even hardware as a result!

The fine folks here want to have every Reason and means possible to keep using Propellerhead Software as their only choice for a primary work environment. There very existence of suggestions such as Rewire-Master, MIDI-Out, and other similar ideas should all lead the props to a more than obvious conclusion - We love what they do, and only want for them to keep doing what they do best, and in the process help us to love what they do even more.

PUREseptor 2010-10-02 08:22

I would enjoythis feature even if only to slave one computer to another

maybe record 2 will have a new re wire


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:33.