Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Advantage of Multi Core CPU's (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=133604)

noobinberg 2010-11-26 23:48

Advantage of Multi Core CPU's
 
I have looked but no real advice on this subject. I'm needing to upgrade my system badly.

p4 2.66ghz
2048 mb ddr2 533
M-Audio Fast Track Ultra 8R (ASIO sound)

tons of storage and decent video.

I want to upgrade the MOBO/CPU/RAM. In order to make a good CPU choice I need to consider speed of a single/dual core vs. the advantage of quad/six core CPU. Reason 5 is my meat and potatoes for production. So, if it doesn't qualify as a multi threaded app then I should go with a higher clock speed CPU. The higher multi cores tend to have slower single core speeds.

Does Reason 5.0 take advantage of multiple core processors or is it a single thread application?

danny_f 2010-11-27 03:48

Apparently it does. I just got a i7 2.8 Quad core- with hyperthreading it creates 4 additional viritual cores for a total of 8 cores. Its blazingly fast!

phasys 2010-11-27 12:39

Quote:

Originally Posted by noobinberg (Post 819106)
Does Reason 5.0 take advantage of multiple core processors or is it a single thread application?

Reason 4 only uses 1 core for audio (the other is used by the GUI).

Reason 4 combined with Record 1 has full multicore support, and so does Reason 5 (and of course Record 1.5 as well).

noobinberg 2010-11-29 15:03

So, does my reason 5.0 support multiple threads by itself? I don't use Record. I have Sonar, Cubase and Protools for that sort of stuff.

n0ahg 2010-11-29 15:05

Quote:

Originally Posted by noobinberg (Post 819716)
So, does my reason 5.0 support multiple threads by itself? I don't use Record. I have Sonar, Cubase and Protools for that sort of stuff.

Yes, just enable the option in the prefs

noobinberg 2010-11-29 16:51

YAY! Thanks everyone! Now I need to determine if I should go quad or six core CPU...I'm thinking 6 core as those amd cpu's are much less expensive than the i7's quad. Granted, they don't perform as well but the difference is $700 so, there it is there.

phasys 2010-11-29 17:00

Quote:

Originally Posted by noobinberg (Post 819732)
YAY! Thanks everyone! Now I need to determine if I should go quad or six core CPU...I'm thinking 6 core as those amd cpu's are much less expensive than the i7's quad. Granted, they don't perform as well but the difference is $700 so, there it is there.

Huh? I got a Core i5 (chip) for 250 or so. That's way more CPU than you'll ever use with Reason 5.

n0ahg 2010-11-29 17:28

I got a i7 860 for about £220 back in January :-(

noobinberg 2010-11-29 17:29

Cool, well....I use more than just Reason on my computer. Premiere Pro...Photoshop...Illustrator....etc. All of which take advantage of multiple threads. But, right now I'm really having trouble with audio drop outs on my P4 2.66 single core so, I definately need to upgrade.

The 6core AMD chip out performs ALL of the i5's in the "Overall CPU" benchmarks FOR $50 LESS. I doubt that I'll go i5. If I go Intel at all It would be the i7 to gain more performance over the 1090T or even the 1055T http://www.tomshardware.com/charts/d...ance,2416.html

It's gonna be a couple months before I can even afford the $200 so, I've got some time to ponder everything.

noobinberg 2010-11-29 17:33

That chip barely outperforms the AMD 6 core series. I'm not sure what that amount is in USD but I'm sure it more than $200. I'm just trying to get the most bang for my buck and it seems that AMD is leading the charge in that area. Granted, I'd love to have the performance of ANY i7 over AMD but, my budget says "just settle for the cheaper chip"...LOL!


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:33.