Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   Feature Suggestion Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   SSL controller (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=137965)

isaiahbernal 2011-03-23 05:57

SSL controller
 
I think it would be super to have a usb midi controller that mirrors the SSl Mixing board. it could Be one Phat channel or 8 bankable channels.

benjamin83 2011-03-23 13:45

I have often thought about this. I even once sketched out the layout for a 24 channel mixer with every kbob, fader and button replicated on a mixer, on a slow day at work once.

Doubt it would happen though. I guess you could make one yourself?

mcatalao 2011-03-23 14:49

Best option at the time is a multi surface arrangement, with mackie or behringers, or other mixing surfaces.

If you check in the forum i have 2 BCF 2000 and a BCR2000, and i can control all faders, mute, solo, panning and wideness.

Also, when selecting a track i can control all ssl's buttons with the BCR2000, in an arrangement i created myself with reason remote.

Meanwhile, SSl created a really nice studio mixer that i whink will work great with Record, but costs 5000 USD, i think... It's something like pro-tools studio 24, but smaller, and has some ssl pré-amps.

I created my little arrangement with 1/10 of that, anyway... :/

123bpm 2011-03-23 19:53

Quote:

Originally Posted by isaiahbernal (Post 852696)
I think it would be super to have a usb midi controller that mirrors the SSl Mixing board. it could Be one Phat channel or 8 bankable channels.

I would be very interested also. But ONLY if there if it comes from SSL with the SSL logo on it!

paranoidandroid72 2011-03-23 20:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by 123bpm (Post 852858)
I would be very interested also. But ONLY if there if it comes from SSL with the SSL logo on it!

I wouldn't, it's likely to cost about 5 times more than other manufacturers.

mcatalao 2011-03-23 21:59

http://www.solid-state-logic.com/nuc...dium_large.jpg

4100 €...

123bpm 2011-03-24 04:26

Quote:

Originally Posted by mcatalao (Post 852897)

so its rather 20 times more expensive!

mcatalao 2011-03-24 09:36

Well since i had to buy too bcf and a bcr wich cost me around 500 €...

deankay 2011-03-24 10:09

I like the idea but I personally think you would encounter issues. For example, if you have one channel strip as a controller for each virtual channel, then tweaking eq's would be a nightmare because once you've done all the eq's for one channel and move to the next, then the settings would remain on the controller from the previous channel, and as soon as you move one knob there may be large jumps in frequency.
I think I'm explaining my thoughts properly, does it make sense?
Anyway, I'm not sure it would work out.

Koshdukai 2011-03-24 11:27

Quote:

Originally Posted by deankay (Post 853009)
if you have one channel strip as a controller for each virtual channel, then tweaking eq's would be a nightmare because once you've done all the eq's for one channel and move to the next, then the settings would remain on the controller from the previous channel, and as soon as you move one knob there may be large jumps in frequency.
I think I'm explaining my thoughts properly, does it make sense?
Anyway, I'm not sure it would work out.

Using endless rotary encoders (using inc/dec deltas) instead of 270º (abs value) knobs would fix that, for me.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:07.