Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   Feature Suggestion Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Consider locking devices into the rack, or changing click-drag behaviour (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=145930)

meowsqueak 2011-09-19 07:39

Consider locking devices into the rack, or changing click-drag behaviour
 
The Reason interface was created around modeling physical devices - and they used to feel like they had some real presence. In Reason 4 and earlier, you had to click-drag a specific part of a device to move it around in the rack. But in Reason 5 & Record 1.5, it appears you can drag a device by click-dragging it anywhere there isn't a knob/slider/button. This can happen if you mis-click and miss when trying to adjust a slider or knob.

I can only offer me own experience. Sadly my experience is not good. Time after time I'll mis-click and drag a device into who-knows-where. A quick 'undo' fixes it, but I thought I'd get used to it yet I haven't. It's especially bad on high-resolution but small screens like laptops, or with imprecise input methods like the MBP touch pad or some wireless mice.

Please consider improving the User Experience by providing an option to revert to the previous behaviour where a device could only be moved by dragging a special region on the side of the device - or some sort of 'lock' that prevents a device from moving around inadvertently, much like a real rack device is often bolted into place.

I know someone is bound to jump in and tell me to just "deal with it", and I will, but frankly if you don't ask the question you will never get an answer :)

TreasonLaw 2011-09-19 18:35

I agree. I am always click-dragging devices unintentionally, leading to drunk-esque double-vision super-imposition.

JiggeryPokery 2011-09-19 19:27

Quote:

Originally Posted by meowsqueak (Post 923515)

I know someone is bound to jump in and tell me to just "deal with it", and I will

Actually, I think you're pretty safe on this one ;)

+1

plaamook 2011-09-19 22:53

yeah, i just posted a thread on this very issue a few weeks ago.

needless to say, i agree totally.

apparently they went from drag zones in the corner to the whole surface because so many people asked for it.

what an annoying thing for people to have asked for...

meowsqueak 2011-09-19 23:01

Quote:

Originally Posted by plaamook (Post 923840)
yeah, i just posted a thread on this very issue a few weeks ago.

Oh, sorry, I did search but I didn't find your thread. Maybe you could post a link here to tie the two together?

Exowildebeest 2011-09-19 23:34

I like how it is... In the rare cases I mis-click, a quick ctrl+z is all it takes, and I have my fingers on ctrl+z by default anyway. (The undo system is one of Reason's great strengths! One of the arguments against VST's, come to think of it.)

So my wish would be: make the drag behaviour selectable in the preferences.

meowsqueak 2011-09-19 23:43

Quote:

Originally Posted by Exowildebeest (Post 923865)
I like how it is... In the rare cases I mis-click, a quick ctrl+z is all it takes, and I have my fingers on ctrl+z by default anyway. (The undo system is one of Reason's great strengths! One of the arguments against VST's, come to think of it.)

So my wish would be: make the drag behaviour selectable in the preferences.

I completely agree - it should be a preference, as I'm sure some people like the newer behaviour and I can accept that.

gallob 2011-09-20 00:07

+1

Make it a preference. I personally like the old way better and i am sick and tired of accidentally moving devices around.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:29.