Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Transfer licence from Mac to PC? (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=159111)

wjoyce 2012-05-08 21:16

Transfer licence from Mac to PC?
 
Hi,

I'm looking to buy a used copy of Reason 6. It's Reason 2, 3 & 4 all boxed and a boxed upgrade to 6, but the current owner states that it says "Reason 6 Mac" on his licence page.

As I don't have a Mac, will the licence work on the PC after transfer?

Thanks,
Bod

StormCanada 2012-05-08 21:34

The license will work on either platform. The license only dictates which version of Reason you can install and run. And since Reason is multi-platform you are fine with what you want to do.

SteveDiverse 2012-05-08 21:39

Quote:

Originally Posted by wjoyce (Post 1049830)
Hi,

I'm looking to buy a used copy of Reason 6. It's Reason 2, 3 & 4 all boxed and a boxed upgrade to 6, but the current owner states that it says "Reason 6 Mac" on his licence page.

As I don't have a Mac, will the licence work on the PC after transfer?

Yes. The license works on both MAC and PC.

Once the seller transfers the 'license' to your account, you're probably best to download Reason 6, v2.06 from this site, via the "Downloads" link at the top of the page.

FYI, it sounds like you are purchasing from someone who originally bought Reason 2 and has upgraded a few times to Reason 6. This means that they have to transfer all of the licenses (sounds like that's what they plan to do).

Just to be safe, if you haven't read these already, you should, so you know what the the seller has to do - and what you should expect to receive:

Buying: http://www.propellerheads.se/support...le=buysell_buy

Selling: http://www.propellerheads.se/support...e=buysell_sell

Danoc 2012-05-09 04:38

Yep it does, because I have a Mac Pro Intel desk, and a PC XP and it works fine on both. When I have a quick idea I use now the PC and then take out my dongle when I am ready to rock on the Mac and put my dongle in and it works on the Mac also.

Quote:

Originally Posted by wjoyce (Post 1049830)
Hi,

I'm looking to buy a used copy of Reason 6. It's Reason 2, 3 & 4 all boxed and a boxed upgrade to 6, but the current owner states that it says "Reason 6 Mac" on his licence page.

As I don't have a Mac, will the licence work on the PC after transfer?

Thanks,
Bod


wjoyce 2012-05-09 23:58

Thanks for the replies. I'm just waiting for the licence to be transferred now. Can't wait :)

wjoyce 2012-05-14 10:47

The sale fell through due a problematic dongle. :(

Anybody have a Reason 6 license to sell in the UK?

Grumbleweed 2012-05-14 14:31

Quote:

Originally Posted by SteveDiverse (Post 1049839)
Once the seller transfers the 'license' to your account, you're probably best to download Reason 6, v2.06 from this site, via the "Downloads" link at the top of the page.

Surely it's v6.0.2?

http://www.propellerheads.se/downloa...icle=reason602

Grum (the man with a 4:2 line mixer ;) ).

wjoyce 2012-05-14 23:23

We all knew what he meant...

Grumbleweed 2012-05-15 10:14

Quote:

Originally Posted by wjoyce (Post 1052507)
We all knew what he meant...

I know we all knew what he meant but if the man in question read the post he would know why I wrote it (I left a clue).
Just having some fun.

Grum.

adampasternak 2012-06-06 21:49

Storm:

I am in a similar situation but want to buy a new copy of Reason 6.0 from the website.

Right now I am on a windows platform, and I want to get started working soon. In a year or so I will most likely move over to a Mac platform. In that case, I would just download the Mac version of Reason 6.0, install, plug my USB key into the new Mac, and it should work just fine?

In a similar sense, can I keep two Reason 6.0 installs (one on windows machine - old, one on mac machine - new ) and use the same USB dongle key with both systems? So long as only 1 copy of Reason is being run at any time, this is all good with the licensing agreement yes?

Thanks for your help, from a n00b.

- A


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:40.