Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   No audio output from Balance (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=161167)

Bluefish 2012-06-13 19:09

No audio output from Balance
 
Just got a new computer. Installed the 1.0.24 driver for the Balance, then installed Reason. Selected ASIO Balance from the Preferences: Audio tab in Reason. Input works fine, but not a sound from the headphones (tried using Balance and headphones on the old computer, so they both work). There does not appear to be any difference in the settings between the old and new computers under Control Panel: Hardware and Sound: Sound: Manage Audio Devices. There is also no sound when select Test for the Balance under Control Panel: Hardware and Sound: Sound: Manage Audio Devices: Playback: Properties: Advanced. When I switch in Reason to the DX Primary Sound Driver under Audio, sound comes from the computer's speakers.

I even tried doing a system restore and installing Reason first, then the Balance driver. And I tried to find an answer by searching the forum, but "no audio output" brings up 2,000 results, the first several hundred of which were not helpful to this problem. Thanks for any suggestions.

Bluefish 2012-06-14 19:59

Just in case this comes up for anyone else, the answer is.....

USB 3.0

I had no idea this computer had USB 3.0. On this computer the 3.0 ports can be identified by a blue piece of plastic in the port, rather than black. Switched to one of the non-3.0 ports, and all is well.

n0ahg 2012-06-14 20:58

Balance required a USB 2 port and doesn't play nice with USB 3 ports in backward compatibility mode :(

MattiasHG 2012-06-14 21:21

Quote:

Originally Posted by n0ahg (Post 1070706)
Balance required a USB 2 port and doesn't play nice with USB 3 ports in backward compatibility mode :(

Interestingly enough it seems to work with the brand spankin' new MacBook Airs with USB3. We're thoroughly investigating this still though. :)

n0ahg 2012-06-14 23:50

Quote:

Originally Posted by MattiasHG (Post 1070773)
Interestingly enough it seems to work with the brand spankin' new MacBook Airs with USB3. We're thoroughly investigating this still though. :)

That's great to hear and I'll look forward to an official announcement. All the available USB 3 ports up to now have been implemented using a 3rd party chip but the new macbook pro is using the Intel produced integrated implementation supporting ivy bridge so if it works on MacBook pro it should work under windows.

martyn356 2012-06-14 23:58

Apple have dual combined USB 2 with their USB 3 on their new machines - one USB port for both. PC manufacturers have opted to offer USB 2 and USB 3 separate or USB 3 only.

n0ahg 2012-06-15 00:00

Quote:

Originally Posted by martyn356 (Post 1071203)
Apple have dual combined USB 2 with their USB 3 on their new machines - one USB port for both. PC manufacturers have opted to offer USB 2 and USB 3 separate or USB 3 only.

USB 3 has been designed to be backwards compatible but it hasn't worked with Balance with 3rd party ports. Intel hopefully implement them to spec :-)

Savaticus 2012-08-08 19:53

I am having this same issue. Windows 7 64bit. Confirmed that USB 3.0 was the issue.

Grumbleweed 2012-08-08 20:04

Quote:

Originally Posted by Savaticus (Post 1112519)
I am having this same issue. Windows 7 64bit.

The reason for the problem is in this thread and, at present, Balance is USB 2 only on a pc.
I'm in the process of getting a new computer and this USB 2 and USB 3 thing meant I dismissed buying a laptop as all the new ones are USB 3 only.

Grum.

Savaticus 2012-08-10 18:14

Yeah I am new to these forums, once I saw how it navigates and found those updates I edited my post.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:42.