Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Balance / USB 3 (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=163392)

GEEGIO 2012-07-07 04:37

Balance / USB 3
 
So let me get this straight - Balance will not work with my USB 3 ports? The lights come on the unit, steady not blinking, but I'm hearing nothing out of any of my 4 USB 3 ports. I don't have USB 2 ports on this laptop.

This is crazy upsetting news if true.

Is there nothing I can do?

Xaviero 2012-07-07 06:48

Ah man, how unfortunate! No it seems that the Balance won't work with USB 3.0 only 2.0..

Hopefully you have a receipt handy for a refund.

joeyluck 2012-07-07 09:41

There are adapters out there to go from 2.0 to 3.0. Will that not work?

GEEGIO 2012-07-07 10:58

Pretty depressing. I wonder if Reason, like Presonus, will offer a workaround. Would be curious to know if a 3.0 to 2.0 adapter would work, too.

teloch 2012-07-10 21:51

what? is this true? do they plan to fix it? So thats why I dont get any sound out of it on my MacBookPro Retina, that fucking sux. Any more info some place?

MattiasHG 2012-07-10 23:58

Quote:

Originally Posted by GEEGIO (Post 1092722)
So let me get this straight - Balance will not work with my USB 3 ports? The lights come on the unit, steady not blinking, but I'm hearing nothing out of any of my 4 USB 3 ports. I don't have USB 2 ports on this laptop.

This is crazy upsetting news if true.

Is there nothing I can do?

Sorry to say, Balance is not compatible with some PC USB3 chips. We have reports of it working with the new MacBook Pros with USB3 though so it's just the specific chip that's been used in most PCs so far I assume.

I'm no expert on this but we're aware of the issue and hopefully it can be fixed in the future.

n0ahg 2012-07-11 00:02

Quote:

Originally Posted by MattiasHG (Post 1095270)
Sorry to say, Balance is not compatible with some PC USB3 chips. We have reports of it working with the new MacBook Pros with USB3 though so it's just the specific chip that's been used in most PCs so far I assume.

I'm no expert on this but we're aware of the issue and hopefully it can be fixed in the future.

teloch has performed a test in this thread https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/...=160558&page=2

As Balance appears to work under MacOS X but won't work under Windows 7 on the same Macbook Pro the issue must be a software issue either with the USB 3 stack or the Balance driver when running under Windows :(

GEEGIO 2012-07-11 01:41

Is it possible I'm setting it up wrong? The lights go on as they should, the meter pops up on my screen, but I don't hear anything. I called support but was on hold forever. One of the recordings said sounds won't travel through USB?

I have USB from PC to Balance, and line outs on the Balance going to my speakers. That's the way to set it up, right?

GEEGIO 2012-07-12 03:55

Can someone confirm I'm setting my stuff up right? I hate to return Balance if I'm doing something wrong.

MattiasHG 2012-07-12 10:08

Quote:

Originally Posted by GEEGIO (Post 1095334)
Is it possible I'm setting it up wrong? The lights go on as they should, the meter pops up on my screen, but I don't hear anything. I called support but was on hold forever. One of the recordings said sounds won't travel through USB?

I have USB from PC to Balance, and line outs on the Balance going to my speakers. That's the way to set it up, right?

We don't offer phone support but our US distributor does. If you tried to call our office, that's why you were put on hold. ;)

The set up is indeed correct. Have you e-mailed support? They'll get back to you and can confirm where the problem is but I'm suspecting it's a USB3 incompatibility thing. Support can also give you advice on any workarounds that I might not be aware of.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:24.