Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   Feature Suggestion Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   DSP hardware for Reason! (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=165111)

stekfdd 2012-08-04 16:25

DSP hardware for Reason!
 
We start use RE plugins. Its good start.
But RE - eat DSP. Half users buy new pc/macs with more powerful cpu...

but.. if Propellerhead (or other companies) create hardware DSP for Reason - its musthave!
PH today create very good interface - Balance.
I think that they must create physical DSP.

We need more DSP in Reason, and can buy hardware DSP for comfort work

rogerlevy 2012-08-04 16:56

+1

i think this is a really good idea.

it would give Reason the power to have defined resources, that lots of people could share. and it could be optimized for RE's and how Reason works. then we have a baseline for sharing songs and knowing how many [rack] devices the average person can use.

they could release 2 devices - one that is just a DSP, and one that is a combined Balance and DSP with like 1ms latency. I would buy the 2nd one.

Kovkov 2012-08-04 17:58

I dont' understand much about such things. But it sounds usefull.

djfresha 2012-08-04 18:39

Bring on the Motorolas.... TC stopped with PoCo cards (still got mine though), and UAD have right idea too... maybe Props can get into the assember code for this one day? If so get Access Virus onboard for some TI RE.. bleurgh.. sikness haha!

minikin 2012-08-04 20:02

or add support for UAD plugins ;)

stekfdd 2012-08-04 20:29

UAD another storie..
This DSP - for all Reason devices and RE.

Chabbles 2012-08-04 23:56

Would by handy, but how would it work ?, like a external cpu device or something ?

stekfdd 2012-08-05 07:19

Its work as DSP on external hardware synths..
Virus TI have 4 DSP onboard..
PH box of DSP can contain few DSP for work with reason.
System Reason core - can work on CPU, other processes (as synthez, effect processing) work on external DSP's.
You have power of your CPU plus external DSP's for work of your rack devices
DSP - not CPU.. its chips for concrete tasks in synths world.

VillaNDubstep 2012-08-05 15:12

Sounds like a good idea, some RE devices are just power horses and they probably always will be.
If propellerhead do take this approach and bring out some new hardware I don't think it would just solely be that. Maybe incorporate something else with it, 2 birds one stone

Balance 2.0 with integrated external DSP support? something like that

SynapseAudio 2012-08-05 15:43

Quote:

Originally Posted by stekfdd (Post 1110791)
Its work as DSP on external hardware synths..
Virus TI have 4 DSP onboard..
PH box of DSP can contain few DSP for work with reason.
System Reason core - can work on CPU, other processes (as synthez, effect processing) work on external DSP's.
You have power of your CPU plus external DSP's for work of your rack devices
DSP - not CPU.. its chips for concrete tasks in synths world.

The next generation of Intel chips can do FMA (fused multiply-add) and has better vectorization, both should be ideal for DSP. But even today, I'd never trade a modern x86 CPU for even a cluster of DSPs - the performance is just too weak in comparison, if you look at the chip's data sheets.

Richard


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:12.