Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Issue with mixing (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=165922)

Tongueey 2012-08-20 17:30

Issue with mixing

Okay, so at one point in my song the drums kick in over the synth, but it entirely crushes the synth's volume. I'm really new to this, and don't know how to fix it. It just diminishes it to a point where the synth sounds pathetic.
Drums are on Redrum and synth on Thor if that helps...

selig 2012-08-20 17:37

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tongueey (Post 1119579)
Okay, so at one point in my song the drums kick in over the synth, but it entirely crushes the synth's volume. I'm really new to this, and don't know how to fix it. It just diminishes it to a point where the synth sounds pathetic.
Drums are on Redrum and synth on Thor if that helps...

Sounds like maybe you're mixing into a compressor (the Master Compressor, or a Limiter in the Master Insert section, etc), and when the drums kick in they are much louder than the synth. This would cause the compressor to kick in hard and take everything down in level - but since the drums are loud already, they stay loud, but the synth will simply get pushed way down by the compressor because of the drums.

That's all I can surmise from what you posted. The 'fix' is FIRST to turn off the compressor(s) and check the balance between the drums and the synths - thy to make things work well together before adding any compression (if that's indeed what's happening to you).

Let us know if there's compression on your mix, and what you hear when you listen with no compression, and we can go from there. :-)

Benedict 2012-08-21 11:17

Yep Selig is odds on correct.

Mixing in to a Limiter has its advantages but most likely NOT when learning to mix.