Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Controller Issue (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=166562)

PeterLansford 2012-09-01 08:24

Controller Issue
 
I wonder why Reason won't recognize my controller like thirty minutes into a session. Never had the problem before but it happened to me three times today and I'm trying to brush up on my Radical Piano skills man. ;)

koma7 2012-09-01 08:39

Maybe this could be a problem with your controllers cable connection, or if you are connecting another USB device into your computer during the session sometimes this can interfere with other devices currently connected. You getting an error message under preferences and control surfaces and checking you got the right settings, I doubt this is the problem if it happens 30 minutes into a session, but it may give you a hint as to what might be causing the problem.

PeterLansford 2012-09-01 08:42

Yeah most likely the cable or perhaps the hub it is plugged into. Or maybe it's because I'm pounding out chords on the controller like a madman. :)

sentient.minority 2012-09-01 11:21

Is the USB hub powered?

If you're using Windows also have a look at the following:


PeterLansford 2012-09-01 11:30

Quote:

Originally Posted by sentient.minority (Post 1127162)
Is the USB hub powered?

If you're using Windows also have a look at the following:


I can't see embedded videos but I haven't had any issues after plugging the controller directly into my laptop. Hub is not powered. Come to think of it, I've had problems with my wireless mouse giving out in the past too. Hmmmm. Maybe I just need to fork out some extra bucks for a better USB connection.

sentient.minority 2012-09-01 11:52

Here is the direct link:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3IaQb...layer_embedded

It may be that the power management is distributing/reserving power to/for all of your USB ports, if you run everything from a hub on one port the consumption level will be greater than the power output, result, things stop working.

PeterLansford 2012-09-01 11:55

Right on! Thanks!

sentient.minority 2012-09-01 12:10

Let me know if it works!


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:38.