Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Synth Trigger Question (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=167438)

nbest 2012-09-16 02:09

Synth Trigger Question
 
I hope this is the right zone to post this thread but question is such:
I have a line6 studio ux2 with all the hookups working fine, I'm wondering if there's anyway to trigger the various instruments in reason using my guitar/bass/etc instead of midi, as I have no keyboard or the like. Is there an option somewhere or a audio-midi converter built in somewhere in reason? (I'm running with reason 5 i believe) Thanks in advance!

normen 2012-09-16 02:11

You can try using the gate / cv output of neptune for monophonic stuff. Theres videos showing how to set it up so that Neptune gives out the pitch it detects as gate / cv which you can then route into any synth. Not however you won't get MIDI notes on your lanes though this.

nbest 2012-09-16 02:33

Is there any way you might know without using the Neptune? My version of Reason (whatever version that might be) doesn't have the Neptune Pitch Correction available...unless I need to download it as an extra add-on or something. Thanks!

normen 2012-09-16 02:33

Nope :(

nbest 2012-09-16 02:45

Damn, well thanks for the info man. I got an old MusicStar keyboard I might be able to use. It's cheaper than most grade-school medolicas but lo, it has midi capabilities haha. Have a good one sir!

gwynebiau 2012-09-16 02:58

If you can't figure anything else out, you can always draw the notes in by hand in Edit Mode, and although I don't remember for sure if all versions of Reason have a built in software keyboard, you can use that if it's there.

In Reason 6.5 on a Mac it's "Show On-Screen Piano Keys" in the Window menu, or F4. Look for it if it would help you to be able to play using your computer keyboard (of course without velocity sensitivity or other features like that since computer keyboards don't have them, but you can manually edit those parameters after recording if you want to).


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:57.