Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   reason 6.5 compatible with Mixers? (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=167815)

ECG101 2012-09-22 23:54

reason 6.5 compatible with Mixers?
 
Hey everyone

I'm working on a home studio and I've been to many other studios in my area and all the studios I've been to I've never seen reason software actually configured with the outer gear (SSL mixers) other then using the speakers. so my question is do I spend money on the mixer I want or do I put that money towards something else because I don't want to spend the money if reason isn't going to be compatible with it.

SteveDiverse 2012-09-23 02:59

Please post specifics on what you want to do and any specific mixers/products you are considering. It would also help if you also post what else you already have (audio interfaces, controllers, etc).

There are many different types of mixers and mixer control surfaces that will offer different functionality with Reason.

Dave909 2012-09-23 03:22

It´s really beyond me why people would use an audio mixer with Reason as the SSL emulation will outperform most of them. A mixer control surface will be the best option imo :)

omshanti20 2012-09-23 03:25

********************

ECG101 2012-09-23 03:37

SteveDiverse... I'm talking about being able to pretty much actually use the mixer channels.. like have a 40-60 track song in reason then be able to throw them on the SSL (or any other mixer) and use it's patch bay and compressors and such.. I'm still looking around and Haven't set my eyes on a mixer yet

I say the SSL because I'm a student at a music school and they have SSL boards there along with out board gear that I would like to use and to record there you would have to use the tie lines witch you would end up going to the patch bay to rout the signal.

Dave909... I'm not saying there bad or anything but thats like saying you would never try the Fret compressor because you only use the M class or the SSL emulation... I just want to be able to use everything that I pay for you know

Dave909 2012-09-23 03:39

Yeah my point indeed. Don´t spend money on an audio mixer but get a control surface to control the SSL emulation in Reason. It´s way more powerful than any mixer in the affordable range. You will be better off buying a control surface to control it :)

ECG101 2012-09-23 03:48

omshanti20:
I understand it was just a question of mine because I work really fast in reason but the school I go to drills pro tools in your head but never want to answer questions on why you can't use the other DAWS.

as for my home studio. I'm not saying I want a powerhouse mixer in my studio but one thats good enough so I don't have to mix in the box all the time.

for the record I don't have a problem with in the box mixing

ECG101 2012-09-23 03:50

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dave909 (Post 1142921)
Yeah my point indeed. Don´t spend money on an audio mixer but get a control surface to control the SSL emulation in Reason. It´s way more powerful than any mixer in the affordable range. You will be better off buying a control surface to control it :)


I see what surface would you recommend

Dave909 2012-09-23 03:55

One with as many faders as you can afford really. Behringer has one with automated faders. I know Behringer is crap but as that´s a midi device it won´t transfer their noise into your songs :D There´s other´s from Mackie but these are more expensive.

http://www.thomann.de/be/behringer_bcf_2000.htm

http://www.thomann.de/be/icon_qcon_ex.htm

http://www.thomann.de/be/icon_icontrols_pro.htm

That´s a few but there´s more, and they all cost less than getting a decent audio mixer which does the sound of the SSL emulation any good :)

ECG101 2012-09-23 04:00

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dave909 (Post 1142931)
One with as many faders as you can afford really. Behringer has one with automated faders. I know Behringer is crap but as that´s a midi device it won´t transfer their noise into your songs :D There´s other´s from Mackie but these are more expensive.


thanks I will take a look at some of these could you send me a message with a couple more?


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:51.