Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Windows laptop with two hard drives... (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=167864)

jimidjango 2012-09-24 00:14

Windows laptop with two hard drives...
 
Q: Is it possible to make one of the hd's run Mac OS? If so, how would I go about that?

Thanks for the help!!

SteveDiverse 2012-09-24 04:41

Not possible.

FYI, 'dual boot' (two operating systems) has nothing to do with having two hard drives.

You can dual boot with one hard drive - but...

Apple computers can dual boot MAC OS and Windows.

PC's / Laptops cannot dual boot Windows and MAC OS.

It's a hardware thing.

jimidjango 2012-09-24 05:49

Thanks for the info Steve. I shall purge that thought from my mind :)

dvdfilmbuff 2012-09-24 08:47

Quote:

Originally Posted by SteveDiverse (Post 1143409)
Not possible.

FYI, 'dual boot' (two operating systems) has nothing to do with having two hard drives.

You can dual boot with one hard drive - but...

Apple computers can dual boot MAC OS and Windows.

PC's / Laptops cannot dual boot Windows and MAC OS.

It's a hardware thing.

Actually, thats not strictly true.

Your laptop should (depending on its age) be able to boot to an external HDD (F9 or F12) to change boot device, but you then have the issue of getting the second OS on the external HDD. Unless you know someone with a MAC who can install YOUR LEGAL COPY OF MAC OS X on a spare HDD, which you can then add to a USB to SATA caddy and boot from, you are stuck. Even then, the hardware drivers will not be correct for your laptop.

All new MACS run on Intel chips and the Intel version of MAC OS X runs nice on some Windows hardware.

The easiest thing to do if you really really really want to run MAC OS is to download something like Virtualbox and create a virtual machine that you can run along side Windows (You can run it full screen so it looks like the only OS running) - This depends on your bare metal hardware tho as you will need some grunt to run MAC OS fast enough, especially if you want to use Reason!

Just my 2 pennies worth, from past experience.

Mike

dreampolice 2012-09-24 08:59

^^ I would not exactly call this legal. And sometimes it is not even easy to do, but it can work.

n0ahg 2012-09-24 10:14

You can only legally run macos on apple hardware


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:52.