Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   o/t: Guitar Hardware Question (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=168682)

skie 2012-10-09 20:21

o/t: Guitar Hardware Question
 
Hi I have about 7 effects in my rig, Question is: if I keep them all patched together but only turn on one or two at a time, will I lose dB's in the same way as if I had all seven pedals on at once (I know when you have a bunch of pedals in your rig you sometimes need like a maximizer or something to make up for some of the signal that gets lost from pedal to pedal, but does this occur when you only have like 1 or two pedals activated at a time? Sorry if this sounds kinda confusing....thanks!!!

skie 2012-10-09 20:23

I guess I'm wanting to know if I can be lazy and leave all my pedals chained together and only engage the ones I want (1 or two max) or if I should go guitar-->pedal 1-->pedal 2-->amp to preserve my signal. Thanks

ryszard 2012-10-09 20:31

It largely depends on the quality of the pedals. Modern guitar effects are designed well enough that you shouldn't lose level, but you will add noise. Given that the ideal circuit is a straight piece of wire, technically it would be best to use as few effects as possible while recording. However, it's up to you to decide whether you can actually hear the difference. (Note that I'm also a guitarist, but I don't use discrete devices; I have a Roland VG-88, which emulates instruments, amps, and effects. I've done the stomp box thing, though.)

HTH,

Richard

skie 2012-10-09 20:42

Sounds good, thanks...I'll have to do some comparing!


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:53.