Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Computer Too Slow - Why? (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=170306)

bigdawgbeatz 2012-11-03 19:16

Computer Too Slow - Why?
 
Can someone please help me.

I'm running Reason 6.5 and it only requires 1 GB or ram but for some reason, my 6GB ram can't run it.
I use to run Reason 6 just fine on my computer when I had 2GB and now after I upgraded to 6.5 it won't let me do anything.

Please help me!!!

Here's my spec's...
  • Manufacturer: Pegatron
  • Form factor: Mini-ITX form factor: 17 cm (6.7 inches) x 20 cm (7.9 inches)
  • Chipset: AMD Hudson-D1 FCH
  • Memory sockets: 2 x DDR3
  • Front side bus speeds: 4 lanes, 2.5 GT/s per lane UMI (Unified Media Interface)
  • Processor socket: Not applicable because the processor is soldered down to the motherboard
  • For more details, see Bluewood3 motherboard specifications .

Processor
Processor information
  • AMD Fusion E300 (Zacate) Dual Core processor soldered down on the motherboard
  • TDP: 18W
  • Socket type: Not applicable


NOTE: The processor cannot be upgraded because the processor is soldered down to the motherboard.



Memory
4 GB
  • Amount: 4 GB
  • Speed: PC3-10600 MB/sec
  • Type: DDR3-1333


Memory upgrade information
  • Single channel memory architecture
  • Two 240-pin DDR3 UDIMM sockets
  • Supports DDR3 UDIMMs
    • PC3-6400 (800 MHz)
    • PC3-8500 (1066 MHz)
  • Non-ECC memory only, unbuffered
  • Supports up to 4 GB on 32-bit* systems
  • Supports up to 32 GB on 64-bit systems (with 16 GB UDIMMs)


NOTE: 32-bit systems cannot address a full 4.0 GB of memory



Video graphics
Integrated graphics
Integrated video is not available if a graphics card is installed
  • Integrated graphics: Radeon HD 6310
  • DVI and VGA output ports (both ports can be used at the same time)



Sound/Audio
Integrated Realtek ALC662 Audio
*Integrated audio is not available if a sound card is installed.
  • Realtek ALC662 CODEC



Networking
LAN: 10-Base-T
  • Interface: Integrated into motherboard
  • Technology: Atheros AR8152
  • Data transfer speeds: up to 10/100 Mb/s
  • Transmission standards: 10-Base-T Ethernet



Hard drive
500 GB
Figure 2: Hard drive

zeebot 2012-11-03 19:24

What version are running, 32bit o 64? 32bit will only use about 3.5gb of the ram + you are running intergrated graphics which will hog your ram, you are also using system resources for your audio by the looks of it.

DHWood 2012-11-03 19:48

Additional question, which seemed silly to me at the time:

How much of your hard disk is filled? What percentage capacity are you running at?

zeebot 2012-11-03 20:16

Also what type? SSD? hard disc? 5400rpm or 7200rpm?

n0ahg 2012-11-03 21:03

This is a notebook processor, see http://www.notebookcheck.net/AMD-E-S...r.60141.0.html

RXTX 2012-11-04 00:14

Memory has little to do with the "computer too slow" error. It's all about the processor load (and possibly disk usage if you're using tons of samples). Your CPU can't keep up.

Make sure you're using 6.5.1 and not 6.5 which had some bugs causing slowdowns. Also try increasing the buffer size (Edit->Preferences->Audio) or using another sound driver to lighten the load on the processor.

jkheal 2012-11-04 00:50

I'm not a processor expert, but from reading up on your chip, I see that it is dual-core with a clock speed of 1.3GHz.

Reason is renowned for going easy on processors, but I would say the most recent versions definitely require some horsepower. I'm running a 3.0GHz single core and I get the "computer too slow" alert quite often. Your processor also has a relatively small cache, and perhaps this is something Reason uses extensively. And perhaps some operations, like floating point calculations, do not run terribly fast on your low-power processor.

Anyway, all this too say that, unfortunately, like mine, your computer is probably just too slow.

Personally, I think Propellerhead is a little too liberal with their published system requirements. To do anything meaningful really does seem to require a pretty hefty multi-core processor.

... unless 6.5.1 cures everything, in which case, ignore me. :-)

Sipher 2012-11-04 03:07

If you want to produce music with out hitting the limits of your computer quickly it takes a hefty computer. A 1.3 ghz processor is a bit on the slow side for any serious production without bouncing many of your tracks down to save cpu cycles.

n0ahg 2012-11-04 12:55

As I posted above that chip is a netbook low power chip, similar to Intel Atom and therefore even at a reasonable clock rate it is not intended for intensive operations. The same applies to the ultra low voltage i3 and i5 processors used in ultra books which is why my new laptop has a real i7 3615Q

Sipher 2012-11-04 14:36

Any of the atom based, or low volt CPU's are going to cause problems for audio production. They were made to check email and run basic net apps not number crunch like a desktop or high end laptop. Production of music on a computer is all a bout the number crunching, at least on the hardware side of things.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:37.