Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   Feature Suggestion Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   [Feature Request] Better Sampling in Reason (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=170597)

something 2012-11-08 23:27

[Feature Request] Better Sampling in Reason
 
So there is an issue with Reason that really dropped my mouth and made me feel disappointed.

Reason seems not to be able to record whatever sound comes trough the audio interface.

More info here https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/...d.php?t=170565

To be short:

Sampling = sampling.
I want to capture what i hear, regardless from where it comes from which program on my PC.
Reason should be able to capture ANY sound that comes trough the audio interface.
Or even make this possible by a switch knob to enable/disable this.
This is disappointing, seriously.

something 2012-11-14 11:10

Nobody???
Seriously????? 0_o

Smedberg 2012-11-14 11:13

Does this functionality exists in any other DAW?

JiggeryPokery 2012-11-14 11:17

Quote:

Originally Posted by something (Post 1177312)
Nobody???
Seriously????? 0_o

I think no-one else has replied because Bonez explained how to to do it on that previous thread and you completely ignored him, due to your presumption that it can't be done at all and unwillingness to accept otherwise.

@Smed: yeah, that too ;)

BonezMcCoy 2012-11-14 11:19

For you to record the output of your soundcard you must send it back in through an input, or in simpler terms, Reason or any other DAW cannot record what goes OUT but what what comes IN... Two ways to do it:

A real cable

or

Virtual cables using JackAudio or Soundflower

This is what is done by everyone on every other DAW that I personally know.

tonalaxis 2012-11-14 11:24

Quote:

Originally Posted by BonezMcCoy (Post 1177322)
For you to record the output of your soundcard you must send it back in through an input, or in simpler terms, Reason or any other DAW cannot record what goes OUT but what what comes IN... Two ways to do it:

A real cable

or

Virtual cables using JackAudio or Soundflower

This is what is done by everyone on every other DAW that I personally know.

As Bonez says above Jackaudio works very well, I have used it for the exact purposes that you want to do in the previous thread. There are also detailed instructions on the Jackaudio website.

http://jackaudio.org/jack_on_windows

something 2012-11-14 12:07

Quote:

Originally Posted by JiggeryPokery (Post 1177319)
I think no-one else has replied because Bonez explained how to to do it on that previous thread and you completely ignored him, due to your presumption that it can't be done at all and unwillingness to accept otherwise.

@Smed: yeah, that too ;)

I didn't ignore him (see the fact that i replied him, thus not ignoring at all not sure if you know what ignoring means???)

Anyway, i have get it to work by using a cable, see here https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/...d.php?t=170565

I just don't understand why simple software such as http://www.fairstars.com/recorder/ is able to do this and an audio editing suite like Reason is NOT.

something 2012-11-14 12:11

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smedberg (Post 1177315)
Does this functionality exists in any other DAW?

I don't know, do you?

Smedberg 2012-11-14 12:13

Quote:

Originally Posted by something (Post 1177353)
I don't know, do you?

Since you are so upset that Reason does not have this functionality one can get that impression...

something 2012-11-14 12:14

Quote:

Originally Posted by BonezMcCoy (Post 1177322)
For you to record the output of your soundcard you must send it back in through an input, or in simpler terms, Reason or any other DAW cannot record what goes OUT but what what comes IN... Two ways to do it:

A real cable

or

Virtual cables using JackAudio or Soundflower

This is what is done by everyone on every other DAW that I personally know.

Fixed it with a real cable now but would do this feature request to overcome this issue.
If a $25 piece of software ( http://www.fairstars.com/recorder/ ) is able to do it, why not software like Reason?!


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:03.