Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Newbie ? Imported beat/Recording Vocals (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=171079)

nalgeets 2012-11-16 17:36

Newbie ? Imported beat/Recording Vocals
 
My friend brought me a beat he bought to record his vocals over it.
I imported the beat he had & recorded his vocals, but every time
I play back his vocals the beat is so much louder than his vocals. I have my
mic volume turn up loud enough so he's not clipping & I'm using Balance so I also
have the clip safe turned on.

I've been turning up his vocal by clicking on the clip & turning it up in the clip level
instead of using the Fader on the mixer or the Gain knob at the very top of the channel strip.

Is this the right place to turn up his vocals or am I doing it all wrong?
Should I even turn up his vocals or should I just turn down the volume of the beat
I imported?

I've seen videos about recording vocals & recording audio but none of them explain this issue I'm having.

Hopfully I didnt confuse anyone . Any feedback is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Dave909 2012-11-16 17:47

I'm sure the beat has been maximized as almost always so there wont be any space left for the vocals. Just turn the beat down a few db so you get some space to mix the vocals in :)

djfm1983 2012-11-16 22:59

Yeah the beat was probably maximized like Dave said. You'll probably need to turn the beat down or ask your friend for an un mastered beat. Also you'll probably need to compress your vocals after recording them. Try using two in a serial chain preferably a FET 1176 with a fast attack and release (to even out the initial peaks) and the new compressor from Cakewalk (RA-2A to even out the rest ). Don't forget to use the make up gain to make up for any lost gain. Oh I'd also say don't record your vocals so loud that the balance is soft clipping your vocals (you can have the soft clip feature on but don't let your vocal level get so loud during recording that the soft clip occurs). You might also try cutting a little 2kHz on the beat to help the vocals cut through.

nalgeets 2012-11-16 23:10

Thanks for the reply Dave greatly appreciated

nalgeets 2012-11-16 23:26

Thanks for the info DJ. The FET 1176 is that the FET Compressor made by Softtube thats on the RE page? Or is that some other program that needs to be re-wired into Reason?
Also since the vocals are recorded in Mono do I need to make them Stereo in order to make them sound clearer or cripser?

pardon my ignorance for the questions I am asking

Thanks for everything

djfm1983 2012-11-17 02:36

Quote:

Originally Posted by nalgeets (Post 1179451)
Thanks for the info DJ. The FET 1176 is that the FET Compressor made by Softtube thats on the RE page? Or is that some other program that needs to be re-wired into Reason?
Also since the vocals are recorded in Mono do I need to make them Stereo in order to make them sound clearer or cripser?

pardon my ignorance for the questions I am asking

Thanks for everything

Yes the softtube FET compressor RE is the 1176 FET compressor. If you record vocals in mono you'll be fine don't worry about converting them to stereo.

Lunesis 2012-11-17 02:42

Quote:

Originally Posted by nalgeets (Post 1179451)
Thanks for the info DJ. The FET 1176 is that the FET Compressor made by Softtube thats on the RE page? Or is that some other program that needs to be re-wired into Reason?
Also since the vocals are recorded in Mono do I need to make them Stereo in order to make them sound clearer or cripser?

pardon my ignorance for the questions I am asking

Thanks for everything

There's a couple of free compressors too ;)

djfm1983 2012-11-17 03:45

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lunesis (Post 1179587)
There's a couple of free compressors too ;)

Yes but the FET comp has faster attack and release times which work better for catching initial peaks.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:48.