Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Rns files not in Reason Folder (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=171734)

Crution 2012-11-27 09:58

Rns files not in Reason Folder
 
Hello,

Since I installed Reason 3 (still using that) on my new computer the rns files are no longer beeing saved into the Reason folder. I noticed that, but did (unfortunately) not think about it much, since I could still open, save and export my tracks through the program. Now my pc crashed, but I was able to back up my hard drive completely. However I cannot find the rns files anywhere on the hard drive. They have to be somewhere, right? Any ideas? Could they maybe be saved as some kind of library or in a different format?

Help is much appreciated, since every track would be lost if I dont find them!
Thank you!

BonezMcCoy 2012-11-27 10:18

First question is: where did you put the old rns files? They do not transfer on their own.
Second: have you looked in your Documents folder? I think they are saved there unless you set up preferences differently.
Third: have you searched for .rns files on your HD? If they are there, you'll find them.
If you need more specialised help, I suggest registering your licence and contacting support on this site.

Crution 2012-11-27 10:31

I'm not sure what you mean by "the old rns files". On my old computer the rns files would just be saved in the program files reason folder. Since I installed it on my new computer, I couldnt find them anymore. I checked my documents folder and ran a search for rns but nothing came up.

I wanted to see if someone had that problem before, before I contact support.
thank you

PsyTale 2012-11-27 10:40

Quote:

Originally Posted by Crution (Post 1186057)
I'm not sure what you mean by "the old rns files". On my old computer the rns files would just be saved in the program files reason folder. Since I installed it on my new computer, I couldnt find them anymore. I checked my documents folder and ran a search for rns but nothing came up.

I wanted to see if someone had that problem before, before I contact support.
thank you

Are you expecting your projects .rns files to be transferred to a new install? You need to putt he rns files in a different location and copy them back or point to the other location. If you didn't save them from your old pc then they won't show up on your new one?!

Crution 2012-11-27 10:45

No of course not. I copied my complete HD onto an external drive. So I still have all the files, I just cannot find the .rns files anywhere in there. Before, not knowing, where on my HD the .rns filed were saved, wasnt as important, since Reason "knew" it. But now on my reinstalled pc, I obviously have to tell Reason were these files are, only that I dont know that.

PsyTale 2012-11-27 10:46

What windows are you using? Mac?

Crution 2012-11-27 10:48

I'm using Windows 7. Two years ago I was still running XP and back then Reason would save the .rns files in the program files Reason folder, that obviously changed on Windows 7

PsyTale 2012-11-27 11:11

Quote:

Originally Posted by Crution (Post 1186064)
I'm using Windows 7. Two years ago I was still running XP and back then Reason would save the .rns files in the program files Reason folder, that obviously changed on Windows 7

Check;

C:\ProgramData\Propellerhead Software
C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\Propellerhead Software

platzangst 2012-11-27 11:30

Also: make sure that the .rns extension is not, for whatever reason, set as one of Windows' "hidden file" types.

PsyTale 2012-11-27 11:31

Quote:

Originally Posted by platzangst (Post 1186081)
Also: make sure that the .rns extension is not, for whatever reason, set as one of Windows' "hidden file" types.

That doesnt matter when searching it would index the *.rns files anyway.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:45.