Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Running Reason with a live band (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=171781)

turnuptheac 2012-11-28 04:44

Running Reason with a live band

Hey, I am new to Reason and I play in a band. I want to run Reason during and in-between my bands songs, but I am not sure how to do this. I want Reason and the drummer to be in sync at the same tempo. Does anyone know how this could be done?

sonicnurse 2012-11-28 15:01

The drummer would need a click from you on headphones or in ear monitors. And he needs to be supertight;-) Plus it's next to impossible to react to changes in timing the drummer does on your end, so you're pretty much tethering the whole band to your beat, as "slaves to the rhythm". I have bad experiences with such setups, but if everyone's ok to let the computer rhythm be the backbone of things, it can work out fine.

aisling 2012-11-28 16:15

ableton live!

sagana33 2012-11-28 16:46

Quote:

Originally Posted by triphop55 (Post 1187084)
ableton live!

You got me curious. What do you do with Ableton Live that's different from what sonicnurse suggested?

(Incidentally, if there's something automagical about this in Live, then you would just had to rewire Reason to it. Among other things, Rewire synchronizes tempos between master and slave.)

turnuptheac 2012-11-28 18:35

Quote:

Originally Posted by sonicnurse (Post 1187032)
The drummer would need a click from you on headphones or in ear monitors. And he needs to be supertight;-) Plus it's next to impossible to react to changes in timing the drummer does on your end, so you're pretty much tethering the whole band to your beat, as "slaves to the rhythm". I have bad experiences with such setups, but if everyone's ok to let the computer rhythm be the backbone of things, it can work out fine.