Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Audio to Midi... Possible in reason? (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=171884)

Ahenke 2012-11-29 21:27

Audio to Midi... Possible in reason?
 
So a lot of people are really psyched about the new Ableton which has a feature that takes an audio sample and converts it into midi.

I'm guessing that this basically breaks the audio into different frequency bands and then uses a gate to trigger the samples... so in theory it's a pretty simple concept.

Is anyone interested in helping me make a combinator with a similar function? I know how to split the frequencies, but I'm not sure what device will be able to take it from there.... Hopefully someone out there can help!

lilgeez 2012-11-29 21:33

What do you mean?? To send notes to the actual sequencer or using the pitch of the audio to contol a synth??

JoshuaPhilgarlic 2012-11-29 21:40

Perhaps it's possible with Neptune? It has a pitch CV out anyway.

Ahenke 2012-11-29 21:40

Here's my plan so far...

Combinator > Instrument > Spiders > Multiple Stereo Imagers each for different frequencies > Compressor, solo sidechain or something? > Thor?

The last bit is where it's getting tricky for me... here is a video of the Ableton stuff if you aren't familiar yet
http://www.synthtopia.com/content/20...with-autechre/

Ahenke 2012-11-29 21:41

to control a synth i think would be the easiest way, but you could then activate the track, record, and it would become midi

Ahenke 2012-11-29 21:49

Almost got it! I will share this when it is complete. My design right now is most likely going to create the midi in a redrum but i will look into using the neptun to control the pitch of a synth like spatzle suggested

lilgeez 2012-11-29 21:49

http://www.peff.com/journal/2010/08/...-cvgate-combi/ .. Here is a combinator for that.. Not sure if you can map the midi to the sequencer, but why would you need to?? ;) hope it helps

Ahenke 2012-11-29 21:57

that's perfect! do you think there's any way to map the midi? just because it's being controlled by the cv's it doesn't seem to be recording what the instruments are playing??

Ahenke 2012-11-29 22:00

mostly want the midi so i can make weird noises with my mouth then quantize them later lol

lilgeez 2012-11-29 22:00

:p Well just copy and paste the audio that's controlloing it like u would the midi sequence..


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:30.