Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   Feature Suggestion Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   "Ghosting" or "Shortcut" for Master Section (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=172078)

joeyluck 2012-12-02 19:18

"Ghosting" or "Shortcut" for Master Section
 
So, it's very convenient these days to have unlimited racks, yet it then puts some things just out of reach.

Sure, some will probably say, "Mess with the mastering at the end, then you won't have to access it everywhere else in the rack." However, I tend to like to mix into the mastering (or at least some of it).

My suggestion is to have a "ghosting" Master Section at the top of each rack (as a Reason preference to enable or disable). This way, you can access everything in the Master Section from any rack. Maybe it would be a bit translucent or greyscaled? Something to signify that it is simply a 'copy' or 'shortcut' to the Master Section.

I suppose another answer that may be given will be that the navigator makes it easy enough...

Thoughts on this?

rogerlevy 2012-12-02 21:02

I think that makes a lot of sense. Maybe if the hardware device and the master section were fixed like the fader section of the SSL when it's detached and maximized.

Only problem is any connections will look pretttty stretched out when you scroll far from the "home" rack.

It's probably not a piece of cake to code either.

I'd prefer a way to set markers on the rack that I could jump to with a keypress. Maybe one could be hw'd to take you to the master section. I think that would be much easier to code and simpler to use.

joeyluck 2012-12-03 02:07

Quote:

Originally Posted by rogerlevy (Post 1190430)
Only problem is any connections will look pretttty stretched out when you scroll far from the "home" rack.

I would think the the extra representations of the master section would be remote to the master section the same way audio and mix channels are remote to the mixer (no cables).

Quote:

Originally Posted by rogerlevy (Post 1190430)
I'd prefer a way to set markers on the rack that I could jump to with a keypress. Maybe one could be hw'd to take you to the master section. I think that would be much easier to code and simpler to use.

Now that's a good idea! I think that, along with rack labeling would be awesome.

PsyTale 2012-12-03 22:51

Quote:

Originally Posted by joeyluck (Post 1190390)
So, it's very convenient these days to have unlimited racks, yet it then puts some things just out of reach.

Sure, some will probably say, "Mess with the mastering at the end, then you won't have to access it everywhere else in the rack." However, I tend to like to mix into the mastering (or at least some of it).

My suggestion is to have a "ghosting" Master Section at the top of each rack (as a Reason preference to enable or disable). This way, you can access everything in the Master Section from any rack. Maybe it would be a bit translucent or greyscaled? Something to signify that it is simply a 'copy' or 'shortcut' to the Master Section.

I suppose another answer that may be given will be that the navigator makes it easy enough...

Thoughts on this?

I do exactly the same. Sometimes I over-master, because of tired ears or whatever. Things get cludded up. Then I completely rebuild the rack from the bottom up (technically) just so that I know that how I intended to make it is now also the fact. This brings 2 benefits, some project are years old and needed a revamp anyway, but sometimes is makes you look at the bigger picture better. (its not as cludded/clouded technically), also you can then eq everything to taste again and by layering part by part and making sure they fit you get the groove going. It's amazing what can happen when you do this, I can tell from experience.

Anyway thats just my thought on mixing and mastering :)

Edit: I forgot to say, thisway you wont have to worry about your question anymore.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:15.