Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   New computer with firewire ports? (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=172223)

wkeever 2012-12-05 19:46

New computer with firewire ports?
 
So I am looking for a new computer and I want to use firewire audio interfaces.
And about 10 years ago, every computer had firewire, but now I can't find a single one.

I am talking about Windows computers, not MAC's, but I actually even looked at an iMac and I didn't see a firewire (or 1394) listed in it's long description either.

So what do I have to do to get a new computer with firewire? Build my own?

Grumbleweed 2012-12-05 19:54

Quote:

Originally Posted by wkeever (Post 1192227)
So I am looking for a new computer and I want to use firewire audio interfaces.
And about 10 years ago, every computer had firewire, but now I can't find a single one.

I am talking about Windows computers, not MAC's, but I actually even looked at an iMac and I didn't see a firewire (or 1394) listed in it's long description either.

So what do I have to do to get a new computer with firewire? Build my own?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/b?ie=UTF8&node=430534031

Grum.

wkeever 2012-12-05 20:14

Quote:

Originally Posted by Grumbleweed (Post 1192234)

I guess I had forgotten about this.
I haven't used a desktop in a while, so I forgot how easily you can add PCIe cards.
And fewer and fewer laptops nowadays come with PC-CARD ports.

But that is a valid option.

Thanks!

Grumbleweed 2012-12-05 20:44

Quote:

Originally Posted by wkeever (Post 1192248)
I guess I had forgotten about this.
I haven't used a desktop in a while, so I forgot how easily you can add PCIe cards.
And fewer and fewer laptops nowadays come with PC-CARD ports.

But that is a valid option.

Thanks!

My post was a bit short and to the point ;).
I don't think FireWire is the draw it once was but if you need it then you need it. The latest toy is USB 3 and macs have something new now. It's all good fun.

Grum.

wkeever 2012-12-05 22:12

Quote:

Originally Posted by Grumbleweed (Post 1192272)
My post was a bit short and to the point ;).
I don't think FireWire is the draw it once was but if you need it then you need it. The latest toy is USB 3 and macs have something new now. It's all good fun.

Grum.

I have a Motu 896HD which only has firewire connections.
That is the main reason I need a firewire port.

I am going to get an 896mk3 which has firewire and usb, but I'm still not sure if I can daisy chain the two devices together with firewire, and then connect the mk3 to my computer with usb, if I'll be able to access the HD through the Mk3.

And I am not sure if Motu can even answer that. I am going to ask them though.

sagana33 2012-12-06 00:00

Quote:

Originally Posted by wkeever (Post 1192227)
So what do I have to do to get a new computer with firewire? Build my own?

PCMCIA cards are no more.
What's used, these days, is the expresscard.
It's supposed to be faster, better, etc. than PCMCIA.

There definitely are expresscard interfaces that give you firewire.

So buying a laptop with an expresscard slot should be all you need.

Recently, I've just formatted a Linux machine for a friend: a nice HP Pavillion g6. Inexpensive and solid-looking. Definitely had an expresscard slot.

Now, now... please note: I have never used an expresscard/firewire interface. It's supposed to work fine but since I haven't done it personally, I have to put this disclaimer.
Suggest you ask around if they work nicely.

SteveDiverse 2012-12-06 02:35

Before you buy a windows computer with firewire (or before you add firewire to a windows computer) make sure to research compatibility between the audio interfaces you own or are considering purchasing and the firewire chipset.

Not all windows firewire implementations are alike and some (many?) combinations of audio interface and firewire chipsets *do not work*.

skie 2012-12-06 15:52

Word to the wise, if your audio interface is bus-powered, it won't work with a PCI express card adapter, so make sure you have an external power supply adapter if you go with the express card adapter (like if you decide on a laptop). Otherwise it's easy enough to stick a PCI card into your motherboard on a desktop PC, I had the exact same problem as you with my new laptop....unfortunately I had to go into the USB interface market to solve the problem (My TC Electronic Konnekt required bus power which I couldn't get on a laptop with the PCIe adapter) so I got Balance.

jengstrom 2012-12-06 16:18

Many higher end desktops / workstations still have firewire.
For example my very recent HP Z400-series here at the office.

(Perhaps because it is used for many DV-cameras and such equipment. It is also the most popular link for Windows kernel debugging.)

wkeever 2012-12-06 21:34

I think I found an iMac that will get the job done.
I didn't realize the thunderbolt connection could be adapted to firewire.
But the iMac I found has firewire and thunderbolt anyway, so I should be good.

Thanks!


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:50.