Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   If I upgrade to Reason 6 or higher.. (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=172425)

JohnnyUhrig 2012-12-09 17:41

If I upgrade to Reason 6 or higher..
 
Does it mean i wont be able to get to and edit my songs recorded in Reason 5 ??

Lunesis 2012-12-09 17:44

Quote:

Originally Posted by JohnnyUhrig (Post 1194488)
Does it mean i wont be able to get to and edit my songs recorded in Reason 5 ??

You can go back all the way to version one.

JohnnyUhrig 2012-12-09 17:47

thank you.

dub08 2012-12-09 17:49

Like lunesis said, you should be fine!

I think it would be helpful to tackle the "mixer conversion" thing with a test file first.
Once you get use to it, go in on all your old projects from there.

(The SSL isn't in 5 right? Versions fast and furious these days.. I forget) :p

BonezMcCoy 2012-12-09 17:58

Quote:

Originally Posted by JohnnyUhrig (Post 1194488)
Does it mean i wont be able to get to and edit my songs recorded in Reason 5 ??

As pointed out by Lunesis and Dub, you'll be fine opening songs made in earlier versions, what you cannot do is use an earlier version to open a song made in a later version. As for the SSL, if your R5 songs were made in Record, there is nothing to worry about, if they were made in Reason 5 standalone, I recommend visiting this site:

http://www.reason101.net/101-creativ...ngs-in-record/

Rob talks about converting R4 projects to Record, but the same applies to converting old Reason files to R6 and above.

ShelLuser 2012-12-10 03:33

Quote:

Originally Posted by BonezMcCoy (Post 1194500)
As for the SSL, if your R5 songs were made in Record, there is nothing to worry about, if they were made in Reason 5 standalone, I recommend visiting this site:

http://www.reason101.net/101-creativ...ngs-in-record/

Rob talks about converting R4 projects to Record, but the same applies to converting old Reason files to R6 and above.

It is a very good read, one which I wasn't familiar with, however... I've been going over this procedure sometime ago myself (see my blog post) and I think Rob takes one very dangerous step in the process he described...

By moving all the mastering devices into the Master section you could end up with some very nasty side effects where the processing being done here can also affect further processing done in the SSL itself (for example when you're using the master compressor). That's something I ran into (see blog post) and it drove me nuts.

Eventually selig (user on these forums) spotted the cause of the problem within a few moments and pointed out the obvious problem. As such I'm a bit hesitant with that combination these days ;-)

Of course it doesn't have to cause problems, but its definitely something to keep in mind.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:35.