Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   Feature Suggestion Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Panic Button Request (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=172655)

PsyTale 2012-12-13 12:21

Panic Button Request
 
Dear Props, dear other reason users,

It has come to my attention recently that it happens alot that a rack device is having a delay or some other effect that is could be happening that when you press stop there is stil sound playing. Sometimes it takes upto a minute to fade out.

Yes you could tell me to make an automation lane for the main volume and put it to zero and just point the tracker to that lane/block/whatever.

Other DAWs have a Panic button, very useful when something happens you didnt expect. Since this occurs more often with Rack extensions then before, i would like to kindly ask you guys to either implement a panic button that stops all sound / processes creating sound. Or to make sure the stop button does what its supposed to do, stop all sound :)

Other users please fill the poll :)

JiggeryPokery 2012-12-13 12:48

We already had a poll for this.

It came in the top 25 most wanted.

https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/...d.php?t=150516

djjams 2012-12-14 01:40

No need to have this. Just do a remote override mapping for a mute button on a 6:2 mixer put right before the hardware interface and you even got a panic button to actually press.

JiggeryPokery 2012-12-14 13:08

Quote:

Originally Posted by djjams (Post 1198004)
No need to have this. Just do a remote override mapping for a mute button on a 6:2 mixer put right before the hardware interface and you even got a panic button to actually press.

Then it's not a panic button is it? It's a mute button.

:rolleyes:

Exowildebeest 2012-12-14 13:30

Yes to this. Would make working with feedback loops a lot less scary!

OMOMs 2012-12-14 19:20

You know Reason has a -20dB dim button.
if you map a key on your keyboard to it, it makes life a lot easier :D
I've mapped mine to the key above the Tab key, so it's always close...

djjams 2012-12-16 05:05

Quote:

Originally Posted by JiggeryPokery (Post 1198241)
Then it's not a panic button is it? It's a mute button.

:rolleyes:

If you place it right before the audio output it's quite the same unless your PC or audio hardware crashes. But if you run into those issues on a frequent basis I'd suggest using a dedicated hardware mixer/fader/mutebutton for panic control or try to find out what's causing the crashes.

Exowildebeest 2012-12-16 06:33

Quote:

Originally Posted by djjams (Post 1199400)
If you place it right before the audio output it's quite the same unless your PC or audio hardware crashes. But if you run into those issues on a frequent basis I'd suggest using a dedicated hardware mixer/fader/mutebutton for panic control or try to find out what's causing the crashes.

Not the same at all. Once you unmute, any chaos you made will continue blaring out your speakers :) A real panic button would stop and clear all audio, not merely temporarily mute it.

vivadangermouse 2012-12-16 07:47

This is a great idea. I'll support this!


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:47.