Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Tiggering sequences like Ableton? (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=172738)

TomDep 2012-12-14 23:13

Tiggering sequences like Ableton?

Hi,
After 7 years of being a guitarist I finally decided to write my owns songs, not only guitars for my gospel/rock/pop band. Before finally choosing a DAW I tested Protools, Reaper, Cubase, Ableton, FL Studio and Reason. Guess which DAW was my favorite :) Reason just blows away all other DAWs with its workflow and contained devices. It's perfect to me, I don't miss any function from differenf DAWs except triggering sequences with midi pads like I could do in Ableton. Even FL Studio will do it soon ;) I tried my best to wire my rack in Reason to do that, but it seems to be impossible. Can anyone tell me how can I do that, or that I can't do that?

nhsh 2012-12-15 00:15

There's no MIDI to sequencer clip or block functionality, so it's kind of tricky. The best suggestions I can think of are:

- Simply use Live to MIDI in to Reason. It's as good as Rewire gets, and the basic Live Lite comes free with most brands of breakfast cereal.

- Or, as I recently suggested somewhere, try the (cruder but amazing) seq24 MIDI sequencer as you're on Windows. Depending on how you hook it in to Reason, you can always record the resultant jams into the Reason sequencer.

- Use pattern devices like Redrum and Matrix wherever possible for dynamic pattern switching. You can always arrange these together onscreen for a nice pattern-switching mission control center.

- Convert all the patterns to Rex loops and switch between them in Dr Octo Rex devices.