Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Studio monitors used with mixed inputs possible? (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=173230)

alternating.bit 2012-12-23 03:39

Studio monitors used with mixed inputs possible?

I'm a noob as far as monitors go as I've always mastered with headphones (yes, I know that's bad).

Anyway, I just received my brand new pair of KRK Rockit 5's today, and since I have an external sound card for my music due to mic input (Focusrite Scarlett 2i2) used strictly for Reason and music recording/producing, I'm wondering if I can SHARE my KRK speakers with the Scarlett's XLR inputs, and say my computer PC RCA's into the speakers for when I switch over to regular computer use (music listening, gaming, web surfing etc.) or could there be some dangerous polarity mixup or something that could damage the speakers? Mind you I wouldn't be using playing content from both Reason and the computer at the same time, although it's possible a Windows alert sound or something might pop up during production.

So I'll re-ask my question simpler:

Is it ok to hook up TWO different sources into my Rockit 5's, one via XLR, and one RCA or 1/4" and use the speakers for both sources?

Thanks

scifunk 2012-12-23 08:11

Why not run ALL your PC sounds through the external soundcard and have no issues?

n0ahg 2012-12-23 11:20

Or connect the line out of your onboard sound to a line in on your external audio interface.

alternating.bit 2012-12-23 13:35

Those are good ideas, but my Scarlett uses USB and I'm low on USB ports and only plug it in when I'm working on music.

And this still doesn't answer my question about the speakers! lol

n0ahg 2012-12-23 13:41

I don't think they will be designed to have both inputs driven at the same time hence my recommendation above

alternating.bit 2012-12-23 13:54