Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   Feature Suggestion Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Complete Izotope Ozone for RE, not just the Maximizer.. (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=173432)

SONNYHOTmusic 2012-12-27 08:41

Complete Izotope Ozone for RE, not just the Maximizer..
 
Before Reason 6.5, Izotope Ozone was my favorite plug in for mastering.. I would rewire Ableton and Reason, and go to work with Ozone... That's all I needed!!! I wish they would make a complete Izotope Ozone for the rack extension... I couldn't ask for anything else..

dboomer 2012-12-27 17:40

Hell yeah!

jlgrimes 2012-12-28 05:06

Quote:

Originally Posted by SONNYHOTmusic (Post 1206827)
Before Reason 6.5, Izotope Ozone was my favorite plug in for mastering.. I would rewire Ableton and Reason, and go to work with Ozone... That's all I needed!!! I wish they would make a complete Izotope Ozone for the rack extension... I couldn't ask for anything else..

I think two things are holding us back:

SDK. Need spectrum analyzes and multiwindow interfaces. Much of izotope's plugins are based off of these concepts.


Latency compensation. The high algorithm limiters use a lot of look ahead processing and Reason has no good way of handling this other than delaying the whole output. I think if Izotope went with their higher algorithms, we would have been in latency hell which probably just isn't practical on an uncompensated system such as Reasons.

Alcapax 2012-12-28 13:16

Would it matter if someone is mastering a single track with the mastering effects on the output? If theres just one track and one ozone plug-in there cant be that much latency?

Just askin, as i am not a programmer.

jlgrimes 2012-12-28 15:59

Quote:

Originally Posted by Alcapax (Post 1207583)
Would it matter if someone is mastering a single track with the mastering effects on the output? If theres just one track and one ozone plug-in there cant be that much latency?

Just askin, as i am not a programmer.

I think part of Ozones limiting algorithms are using a lot of look ahead time. For live processing look ahead delay without latency is impossible but for a buffered playback system it is possible as long as the look ahead is less than the buffer.

Many VSTs allow this but I don't think Reason at the moment does.

I think someone says this will be a difficult task to achieve in Reason because of all the routing possibilities that must be accounted for.

SONNYHOTmusic 2012-12-29 14:29

Hey, thanks everyone for your feedback!!! @Jlgrimes, what if they made it similar to the Mclass? That would be pretty cool, come to think of it... Just Imagine!!!! Man, I can see it now!!! Imagine, a Mclass style rack extension for mastering... Hint, Izotope, Waves, Brainworx, etc.. Full with presets and combinators..

jlgrimes 2012-12-29 15:06

Quote:

Originally Posted by SONNYHOTmusic (Post 1208310)
Hey, thanks everyone for your feedback!!! @Jlgrimes, what if they made it similar to the Mclass? That would be pretty cool, come to think of it... Just Imagine!!!! Man, I can see it now!!! Imagine, a Mclass style rack extension for mastering... Hint, Izotope, Waves, Brainworx, etc.. Full with presets and combinators..

I think the problem is Ozone is extremely different than Mclass. And any attempt to make it like Mclass will mean feature reductions.

No spectrum analyzer
Minimum look ahead processing due to lack of latency compensation.


I don't really want a scaled down mastering system. I think the ball is more in the Props field in making the SDK more flexible. I think if they did this, we would already have these type of effects.


I do think they could make the multiband, and the exciter as separate modules.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:31.