Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   audio interfaces (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=173629)

jinky67 2012-12-30 13:09

audio interfaces

can anyone help me ? im new to sound engineering, and i was going to buy reason essentials, can i use any audio interface to record guitars into it ? any help would be much appreciated thanks

3rdFloorSound 2012-12-30 17:19

Sure, the only interfaces I've heard of that can't be used are those that the manufacturer has abandoned while your OS has moved on. Anything you buy new, though, should be just fine.

jinky67 2012-12-30 19:35

thanks for your help

SteveDiverse 2012-12-30 19:58

Two other things to watch out for:

If you use Windows, and especially if you have a laptop, and are considering a firewire interface, make sure to research compatibility - there are a lot of known compatibility issues with firewire interfaces on windows.

Also, if you have a newer computer with only USB3 ports, you'll also want to check compatibility if you are looking at a USB2 audio interface - there are also known issues of some USB2 audio interfaces not working in USB3 ports (they require a native USB2 port).

SteveDiverse 2012-12-30 20:09

Not sure what your budget is, but a few options at the lower price point:

Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 ~$150 (PC, MAC)

Focusrite iTrack Solo ~$160 (PC, MAC, iOS)

m-audio Fast Track ~$100 (PC, MAC)

I have an older m-audio MobilePre and am very happy with it - no issues. But there have been a lot of complaints about poor customer service and slow to release drivers for new OS. that said, that was when they were owned by Avid, and they've recently been sold, so the verdict is out on how that will affect support.