Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Can i use 2 of the same controllers, at the same time, on the same device (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=173919)

Knoeier 2013-01-04 17:55

Can i use 2 of the same controllers, at the same time, on the same device
 
I was wondering if anyone would be able to answer this

Can i use 2 of the same controllers, at the same time, on the same device.

For example: 2 BCR2000's on 1 Thor ?

alternating.bit 2013-01-04 18:28

You're crazy! Sounds awesome though.
When you select your midi devices in Reason you could always add the 2nd BCR as a generic device if there was any conflict... but as far as remotemap mapping for Rack Extensions, etc., I'm not sure how you'd be able to differenciate between which controller does what since the knob names/numbers/rows would be identical.

Knoeier 2013-01-04 18:37

Well, at the moment i'm using 3 controllers, an axiom pro, a bcr2000 and an mpd24.
I'm a big fan of the first 2 and rewrote a lot of the remote maps for them to make them a bit more intuitive. I also made quite a few new remotemaps for the RE's I bought (even made scripts to quickly generate remotemap skeletons)...
Its just that as a controlfreak i like the BCR a lot... and i want 1 more...

alternating.bit 2013-01-04 18:46

I don't see an issue with multiple controllers, but again, if its an identical unit then the names of the knobs will be the same, so I'm not sure how that will work.

Sterievo 2013-01-04 22:13

You can use an external program such as midi ox (windows) to duplicate the midi from the BCR across multiple ports and/or channels. Using duplicated ports you can then setup up multiple devices. Using multiple channels you can then allocate to multiple thors using the advanced midi bus. If using the bus method the midi would need to correspond to the midi implementation charts rather than a remote codec.

Knoeier 2013-01-04 22:47

Interesting idea, though i think its not what i'm looking for ;)
That said i do have to give it a try, see what kind of stuff i can come up with ! Thanks ;)

Sterievo 2013-01-04 23:50

Just to clarify, I have suggested 2 alternative approaches.
1 being to duplicate the device across virtual ports to create multiple devices.
The other being to duplicate the midi across multiple channels that can then be allocated in the advanced midi bus.

Edit: it is possible to create a remote map that corresponds to the midi implementation charts and therefore take advantage of both methods simultaneously.
In any case you will only be able to have bi-directional control with the BCR in one instance.

Sterievo 2013-01-04 23:58

Sorry, i just reread your original post and realised I completely misunderstood what question you asked.
Yes you can have multiple controllers controlling a single device.

Sterievo 2013-01-05 15:44

And you can do this by locking one controller, and the second being the master keyboard controller.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:48.