Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   Feature Suggestion Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Scream Oversampling (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=174528)

dacess123 2013-01-15 15:36

Scream Oversampling
 
Hi Props

Any chance of fitting Scream with an oversampling button on the next version?

Thanks in advance ;-)

qwan 2013-01-18 00:14

what would oversampling do? I guess I could google it, but I am too lazy...

dacess123 2013-01-18 12:38

Try this, start a new project and set your audio preferences sample rate to 44100 Hz. Create a simple synth pad patch (or whatever you like, but something which has a wide freq range) then add a scream unit at the end of the chain and play about with it for a while. Now, change your sample rate to 88200 Hz and play the same sound... Hear the difference? In my opinion the distortion sounds more pleasant in 88200. Try tweaking the settings and trying different algorithms...

I believe oversampling doubles/quadruples the sample rate inside that particular unit, so I'm hoping that if oversampling could be added to Scream, the output would come out sounding more like the 88200 Hz version.

devilfish 2013-01-18 13:43

@dacess

you bring me an idea !
thanks a lot my friend ;)

dacess123 2013-01-18 14:52

@devilfish

hmmm, what idea is this then? :-)

qwan 2013-01-18 22:46

Quote:

Originally Posted by dacess123 (Post 1221641)
Try this, start a new project and set your audio preferences sample rate to 44100 Hz. Create a simple synth pad patch (or whatever you like, but something which has a wide freq range) then add a scream unit at the end of the chain and play about with it for a while. Now, change your sample rate to 88200 Hz and play the same sound... Hear the difference? In my opinion the distortion sounds more pleasant in 88200. Try tweaking the settings and trying different algorithms...

I believe oversampling doubles/quadruples the sample rate inside that particular unit, so I'm hoping that if oversampling could be added to Scream, the output would come out sounding more like the 88200 Hz version.

I will try this when I get home tonight, and report back :)

eXode 2013-01-19 08:24

Why only Scream?

I'd like to see it for all devices! :)

jlgrimes 2013-01-19 15:19

Quote:

Originally Posted by eXode (Post 1222354)

Agreed.

This actually could benefit most Reason devices ESP the synths.

dacess123 2013-01-21 16:49

I didn't really notice much difference on the other devices I checked but that was only on Thor, Subtractor, MClass EQ and Comp. I'm being biased because I use Scream quite a lot but I have to say, I bought RP Distort last week and I'm liking the sound of it so far :-) I haven't even tested it at 88200 because it sounds so darn good already!

selig 2013-01-21 17:44

Here's my confusion: oversampling addresses aliasing. When Predator came out I compared it's aliasing to Thor and Predator was much worse (Thor was quite impressive, btw). Predator has been updated, and my trial expired before I could compare them again, but still…

Problem for me is, Predator has 32x oversampling and Thor (supposedly) has none. So I'm confused why folks think that oversampling will automagically fix things that in some cases aren't even an issue in the first place? As always, I'm open to the fact I may be mis-representing the issue here or unaware of things that could have led me to different conclusions…

So my question is; in exchange for the CPU hit, what do you expect oversampling to do for you?


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:29.