Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Sound probems while ASIO4ALL is active :S (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=174681)

qode 2013-01-18 10:12

Sound probems while ASIO4ALL is active :S
 
Hey guys,

So yeah, the title explains it all, when I active Reason (which is using the ASIO driver) all of my other sound starts having problems, except Reason which is working perfectly. When I switch to the "DX Primary Sound Driver", all of my sound is working, only Reason can't record any input... Can I make sure that Reason and all my other sound just work together?

Thanks in advance!

- Ryan "Qode" Wilmes

VOLCANIC 2013-01-18 14:53

well reason work quiet nicely with DX primary sound driver. i had the same problem but i ended up using CUBASE with ASIO4ALL. this will allow you to open as many DAWS as you like with different sound driver. the only time you can use ASIO4ALL for all DAWS at the same time is when you have SOUND CARD like LEXICON and the others but still i prefer primary sound driver for reason then others ASIO

qode 2013-01-18 15:45

o ok thanks for the tip :)

Allthough, im not using another DAW, i was just talking about normal standard sound. Like, when Reason is using the ASIO4ALL driver, soundcloud stops working, and YouTube has no sound, i cant play MP3's or edit WAVs in my editor...

n0ahg 2013-01-18 16:13

Perhaps there is a setting in ASIO4ALL to allow none-exclusive access as long as you are aware of the issues? ASIO usually requires exclusive access, see http://bit.ly/VbtziO

qode 2013-01-18 16:18

Ill check it out, thanks :)

jengstrom 2013-01-18 16:24

ASIO4ALL opens your sound card the same way as Reason does when it uses DX drivers, but in full duplex (input and output in sync).

Maybe your audio card and/or audio driver has trouble working in full duplex generally.

If not generally, then maybe it has trouble with the specific ASIO4ALL settings set in the ASIO4ALL control panel. Try increasing the buffer size, etc.

THC7 2013-01-18 21:40

If you only have one sound device then there's no way around the problem with ASIO4ALL. Once ASIO4ALL becomes active it 'hogs' the sound device used by your DAW / Reason and prevents any other application from accessing it.

I have an onboard sound chip which I use for normal system sounds and applications and another sound card used exclusively for Reason / ASIO4ALL.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:53.