Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Reasons to switch to Reason 6 from Live (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=174702)

halisray 2013-01-18 17:26

Reasons to switch to Reason 6 from Live
 
Hi all,

I've heard good things about Reason and I ever only use VSTs on Ableton Live.. so why should I switch to Reason 6? I mostly create ambient music..

Thanks for the help!

dub08 2013-01-18 17:31

I see you have an icon...did you make the switch that fast? :)

I'd say the only reason is your own personal decision....one depending on your own workflow and sound.

halisray 2013-01-18 17:34

lol

well in Live I solely work in Arrangement view, I like to work in a Linear fashion.

My only concern is the Reason interface and hooking everything together.. if you could point me in the right direction of where to learn to route everything and navigate Reason that would be great

nobeahmon 2013-01-18 17:50

Quote:

Originally Posted by halisray (Post 1221884)
lol

well in Live I solely work in Arrangement view, I like to work in a Linear fashion.

My only concern is the Reason interface and hooking everything together.. if you could point me in the right direction of where to learn to route everything and navigate Reason that would be great

http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL29263D87CD4601CD

Get acquainted with the manual too. :)

halisray 2013-01-18 17:58

thanks so much! is it true that each track has a "reason sound" or is that BS?

JoshuaPhilgarlic 2013-01-18 18:04

Nobody could explain me what the alleged Reason sound should be. So I think it's a fairy tale ;) .

nobeahmon 2013-01-18 18:05

Quote:

Originally Posted by halisray (Post 1221904)
thanks so much! is it true that each track has a "reason sound" or is that BS?

Yes BS. Take your time to learn Reason and production and you will be fine.

Also you don't have to abandon Live either. Live implementation of Rewire is the best I have seen. Best of luck to you.

halisray 2013-01-18 18:05

sounds good ha

what instruments would you recommend for an ambient pad as well as a soft piano sound?
Need to learn these instruments now!

3rdFloorSound 2013-01-19 06:45

Quote:

Originally Posted by halisray (Post 1221914)
sounds good ha

what instruments would you recommend for an ambient pad as well as a soft piano sound?
Need to learn these instruments now!

Any of the synths can be used for ambient stuff, it's all in the knob tweaking :D I'm partial to Thor, but that's probably because I've spent the most time with it. Your first concern on any of the synths for pads will be getting your amp envelope set to your liking.
Then there's the easy route: right click an empty area in the rack, create instrument, and browse through the factory soundbank for anything in folders labeled "pads."

Benedict 2013-01-19 10:19

I have used Reason alone for Ambient/Apace Music for years and years. I find it offer a much easier workflow than VST (which I used to develop).

As for the "Reason sound" thing, sure if you don't bother to create a good sound then it will sound as sparse as and un-produced sound. Once you put the work in the possibilities are vast.

:)


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:07.