Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   How do YOU use compression with your drum sounds? (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=174799)

parachutes 2013-01-20 09:40

How do YOU use compression with your drum sounds?

I've been reading a lot about some artists, like Washed Out and Baths, that i like and about how they get nice big drum sounds. They all talk about using compression. I'm new to mixing, and I'm still trying to wrap my head around compression, but what i want to know is how you guys have successfully used it in your songs. I'm looking to crisp up my mixes, and get that nice non-empty drum sound. so how does it work for you?

JeroenPost 2013-01-20 14:54

Hi... I just tried to help someone on another topic.
He wanted to make to the stock reason drum sounds sound better.

I Replied him and attatched a Reason file to show some example.
It's not only about compression, but it's also in there.

Feel free to check it out, i think it has something in it for you.
https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/...d.php?t=174766

pushedbutton 2013-01-20 16:25

Discussions like this usually take place in the user forum.
Most of the serious users (the talented ones) don't look in this section as it's full of people asking stupid questions. This question is reasonably sensible.

JellyF 2013-01-20 19:50

Quote:

Originally Posted by pushedbutton (Post 1222990)
Discussions like this usually take place in the user forum.
Most of the serious users (the talented ones) don't look in this section as it's full of people asking stupid questions. This question is reasonably sensible.

So lets bring some talent here as well then?