Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Viking Unrecoverable ERROR!!!! oh no... not again! (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=175034)

NMRosta 2013-01-24 01:09

Viking Unrecoverable ERROR!!!! oh no... not again!
 
http://img441.imageshack.us/img441/752/vikingfail.jpg

This is not the first time this happens!

This ERROR also made it impossible to save or exit Reason!

Will there be any updates available soon?

devilfish 2013-01-24 10:33

Quote:

Originally Posted by FogstridEr (Post 1225257)

This ERROR also made it impossible to save or exit Reason!

that's right annoying if that is not possible.
and it is a NO-GO !!!


i changed from Cubase to Reason.
just because of these annoying problems,
with VST-Plugins and 32-64bit bridges and so on..

your screenshot is the worst case for every workflow :(
and i hate it when that happens..

Geneyus6 2013-01-24 22:40

Quote:

Originally Posted by FogstridEr (Post 1225257)
http://img441.imageshack.us/img441/752/vikingfail.jpg

This is not the first time this happens!

This ERROR also made it impossible to save or exit Reason!

Will there be any updates available soon?

So much for that initial promo video where they say if your RE crashes reason won't crash.

RXTX 2013-01-24 22:53

Quote:

Originally Posted by Geneyus6 (Post 1225829)
So much for that initial promo video where they say if your RE crashes reason won't crash.

Yeah, that's definitely not true.

When I was beta-testing a RE, one bug (that has since been fixed) would consistently cause Reason to shut down completely.

jkheal 2013-01-25 00:59

Unfortunately, something like this completely undermines the Rack Extension justification. I hope they can get it sorted out.

And it might not be Propellerhead's fault, directly, as I'm sure they are depending upon the operating system's routines for memory protection. What if Windows or OS X says, "Yes, this chunk of memory is protected. Carry on ..." but it really isn't because of bugs in the OS, itself? Well then, you're kind of screwed.

NMRosta 2013-01-25 01:08

I've said it before and I'll say it again. I do not want to talk condescending neither the propeller head or the makers of RE instruments. I just want to get this said so producers can see that something is wrong and might be able to fix the bug. There are many small things that I whine about but that's because it destroys the flow when I work with the program.

nobeahmon 2013-01-25 01:23

Did you email Blamsoft about this issues?

jkheal 2013-01-25 04:43

At any rate, this issue must be a very rare occurrence. Googling the verbiage of that error message returns only this thread in several pages of hits.

fizbin 2013-01-25 06:40

Quote:

Originally Posted by devilfish (Post 1225414)
i changed from Cubase to Reason.
just because of these annoying problems,
with VST-Plugins and 32-64bit bridges and so on..

Just FYI. You know that Cubase (for the last 10 years anyway) makes a separate backup from the main save every few minutes so that if you do crash you should never lose more than say about 15 minutes of work.

fizbin

charlycharlzz 2013-01-25 20:12

lol , lucky me i almost never had a bug with 6.5.2 .
maybe just a few old files that dont open but that is it ! I did not try 6.5.3 yet :)


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:13.