Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   AHH songs being compressed (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=175177)

viren55 2013-01-26 20:43

AHH songs being compressed
 
Hi,

Every time I create a new song (i'm using "Empty + FX.rnsdemo") as a template. The song automatically adds some sort of compression, even though I've bypassed the Master Inserts and Master Compression.

I don't want any compression on it right now. I'll do that when I get to the mastering stage.

It's sooo annoying.

Any guidance?

JensenTNI 2013-01-26 21:41

not sure what could be the reason to be honest, maybe a sample file may help? The mixer and its routings can get very confusing I find and sometimes even if you think everything is clean, there's still some effect or processor working.

Benedict 2013-01-26 23:20

Have you checked for the Master Buss Compressor - the VU Meter up on the top right of the Mixer?

Otherwise the signal flow has never appeared to have any tricks. Selig and other have tested so check everything again or post a file for others to check too.

:)

viren55 2013-01-27 01:10

Here's the link to the Self Contained song: https://www.dropbox.com/s/8y4m2wzqongxifl/Reason.reason

I suck at this making music stuff...so the file is nothing special.
P.s. if you guys have any ideas about how I can learn some electro house music making I'd really appreciate it. I've watched tons of youtube video's, watched all the 52 reason tips n tricks. But am still struggling.

Thanks,
Suraj

Benedict 2013-01-27 04:50

What version of Reason are you on as I can't open that file?

As for learning to make music (let alone good or great music) it is a lot of learning and practice. If you aren't in a band where practice is common then your practice is really the times you sit down to make a new track. Combine this with a conscious effort to learn certain things like theory and engineering as you work.

25+ years on with many releases I still have a lot to learn.

:)

viren55 2013-01-27 04:55

Using Reason 6.5.2

- I've been learning/making music for 20 years, and still feel like I know nothing. Ahh - wish Propellerheads would do some tutorials - start to finish of a song. There's still much about reason I have no idea how to use. - But that's another topic.

Benedict 2013-01-27 07:39

I upgraded to 6.5.3 and still no joy.

After 20 years and knowing "nothing" you are either a Zen Master, very hard on yourself or pig headedly refuse to take in new info LOL

It's not that hard. Maybe you are working in the wrong genre. I can't write Rock/Dance styles to save myself but I can write Space Music.

:)

JensenTNI 2013-01-27 10:33

thats strange, cannot open the file, it says "The song "Reason" cannot be opened." I use 6.5.2, so should be the same version, weird, sorry cannot help!

PS: I make electronic music as well, maybe not Electro as such, maybe I can give some advise here at least ;) From what kind of music are you migrating to electro and what are your issues with making electro music?

viren55 2013-01-27 21:01

Here's a reason file:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/69ap1hhr52...1-13-13.reason

Hope this works.

Benedict 2013-01-28 11:54

Ok so this opens but you have used quite a few ReFills and so I miss half your sounds. Can't see any signs of compression but not unexpected as that sound is way from peaking. I swapped in some other sounds and nothing seems odd at all.

I think maybe you need to explain why you think that the sound is being compressed?

However I do think that maybe you are making things harder for yourself than necessary as you seem to have Combis and then be accessing instruments in the middle of them when it would make more sense just to access the Combi and let it do the work for you. Also I see you trying to EQ things and making some strange and doubled-up decisions betweein the Parametric and Hi/Lo Pass Filters.

I think you are right in that you don't really understand the flow of a signal. That said your notes are not bad. Overall this suggests the confusion you have expressed above so here's what I'd suggest: Have a look at the version of your track that I have posted...

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/6869239/House%20Demo.reason

It is really all your notes (my sounds/no samples) laid out and with a simpler, clearer take on the mix. I have also laid out a very simple arrangement.

Till it makes full sense to you it is best to only work in one place, Using Blocks and Song view at once is confusing. I personally prefer the Linear Song View which is what I have shown you here.

For now also ignore EQ etc and focus on getting songs, then you can start to EQ as you have a reason for your edits.

I have used simple synth sounds as that is my thing and it is better to focus on notes before sounds (even tho electronic music always appears the other way). Sure it ain't as Bangin' but it does show you are making a cute House piece (all good House is cute so don't be offended).

Ask if you want to understand more of what I have done here.

:)


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:06.