Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Install help question. (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=176116)

Jchop76 2013-02-13 12:49

Install help question.
 
When installing Reason, should the Sound banks and Orkester be installed in a different drive? I assume these have samples, sounds ect? Or should they run off the same drive?

confused on installation as I always thought you put samples ect on separate drives, from the daw and OS, same with audio on a separate drive.

can someone clarify?


thanks

Mate 2013-02-13 15:03

They're should be in the same Reason root folder where all the program files are!

Anyway what's the version of Reason you're trying to install?

Jchop76 2013-02-13 15:08

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mate (Post 1237129)
They're should be in the same Reason root folder where all the program files are!

Anyway what's the version of Reason you're trying to install?

It will be Reason Essentials that comes with Balance I'm installing

but I do plan on upgrading as well to Reason 6.5 in a few weeks.

Mate 2013-02-13 15:09

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jchop76 (Post 1237132)
It will be Reason Essentials that comes with Balance I'm installing.

Ok, so anyway library sounds bank should be there as I've described above!

Jchop76 2013-02-13 15:13

so what does it mean when I upgrade to Reason 6.5 to move Sound banks and Orkester to another folder or place before uninstalling essentials and upgrading to reason 6.5?

Mate 2013-02-13 15:14

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jchop76 (Post 1237134)
so what does it mean when I upgrade to Reason 6.5 to move Sound banks and Orkester to another folder or place before uninstalling essentials and upgrading to reason 6.5?

No, no, you just have to make new install, coz Reason 6.5 comes with its own banks which are different from the Reason Essentials!

Jchop76 2013-02-13 15:16

Okay. I see great. Thanks for the info Mate.

So when I first install essentials. Just follow the steps for install? so to clarify no moving of files to different drives ect.

when I had ezdrummer, it was advised to install the software but put the sound library samples ect on another drive as it would run more efficent.

I guess Reason doesnt work like this.

Mate 2013-02-13 15:21

No, new Reason 6.5 will just make a new install near Reason Essentials in the PH Folder, it'll not even overwrite Essentials! :) Although you can simply delete Essentials, coz you don't need it anymore! :)

Jchop76 2013-02-13 15:40

thanks do you know if I buy the upgrade is it downloadable? before I get the disk in the mail I assume?

Mate 2013-02-13 15:46

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jchop76 (Post 1237151)
thanks do you know if I buy the upgrade is it downloadable? before I get the disk in the mail I assume?

If you have a Balance it's your Upgrade: https://www.propellerheads.se/shop/i...00010&Cat=1000 don't forget to register your Reason Essentials first!

You can simply download Reason 6.5 right away from the Downloads section & install it & use!

After you'll pay for the upgrade you'll get your serial number onto your account - at least it should work that way & you will be able to use Reason 6.5 by Internet Autorization while you're waiting for your dongle, but still you can authorize your license right away on Balance!


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:18.