Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   Music Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   You Rock Guitar Gen2 (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=176561)

jamienedve 2013-02-20 23:10

You Rock Guitar Gen2
 
Was hoping someone could help me with the setup of YRG with reason 6.5?

I'm running windows 7 and have set up two control surfaces in reason. An Oxygen midi keyboard and the YRG. Both are connected by USB 2.0 via a USB hub. Neither are selected as a master controller so both can be used back and forth or simultaneously.

The problem I have is the YRG doesn't play notes from the Fret board. In other words only open strings work. I can push any fret and the note will not change or be representative of the note.

Does anyone know how to map the frets to Reason's devices so I can use it like a proper guitar?

Many thanks,
J

THESVH 2013-02-21 19:47

YRG Gen2
 
Hi J - Well with regards the the YRG as a midi controller 99% of the time if there is an issue it's in a program setting. You may also want to check the midi channel your using on the YRG. This is really easy to change just by pressing the midi button and scrolling up and down. Finding the right midi channel to send from could resolve the issue for you.

I use mine with Reason 2.5 and 3.0 (ancient versions I realize) with no such issues so it sounds like the midi channel thing may work.

This Quick Start Guide may help or my video tutorial on the Gen 2:

http://yourockguitar.com/component/content/article/206

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8utvo...mment_received

Thanks,
SVH

Quote:

Originally Posted by jamienedve (Post 1241594)
Was hoping someone could help me with the setup of YRG with reason 6.5?

I'm running windows 7 and have set up two control surfaces in reason. An Oxygen midi keyboard and the YRG. Both are connected by USB 2.0 via a USB hub. Neither are selected as a master controller so both can be used back and forth or simultaneously.

The problem I have is the YRG doesn't play notes from the Fret board. In other words only open strings work. I can push any fret and the note will not change or be representative of the note.

Does anyone know how to map the frets to Reason's devices so I can use it like a proper guitar?

Many thanks,
J


THESVH 2013-02-21 19:53

Whoops sent the wrong tutorial link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hWKbQi9-j_w

Quote:

Originally Posted by THESVH (Post 1242241)
Hi J - Well with regards the the YRG as a midi controller 99% of the time if there is an issue it's in a program setting. You may also want to check the midi channel your using on the YRG. This is really easy to change just by pressing the midi button and scrolling up and down. Finding the right midi channel to send from could resolve the issue for you.

I use mine with Reason 2.5 and 3.0 (ancient versions I realize) with no such issues so it sounds like the midi channel thing may work.

This Quick Start Guide may help or my video tutorial on the Gen 2:

http://yourockguitar.com/component/content/article/206

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8utvo...mment_received

Thanks,
SVH


jamienedve 2013-02-22 01:51

Thanks so much mate. Followed your instructions and all fixed now. Needed to play around with the midi channels on the YRG. Cheers J


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:19.