Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Akai MPK25 type controllers - 2 instruments at once? (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=180250)

brock85 2013-04-09 14:28

Akai MPK25 type controllers - 2 instruments at once?
 
Howdy partners.

I have an Akai MPK25 MIDI keyboard controller. What I need to achieve with it using Reason 6.5 is to have a piano sound playing on the keys while drum sounds play on the MPC style pads. Is this possible?

Right now whatever instrument is selected plays on both keys and pads, so I get either drums on everything or piano on everything. Is it a case of MIDI mapping or loading individual samples?

Ideally I would like to be able to change banks using the controller for both drums and keys - maybe as a combinator?

Any suggestions greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Knoeier 2013-04-09 15:29

A combinator with keyboard split might be what you are looking for. Make sure though that the pads send midi notes that are in a different range then your keyboard.

brock85 2013-04-09 15:55

Hmmm how do I go about setting up a keyboard split? Or set the pads to a different range for that matter...

Thanks :)

Mate 2013-04-09 16:00

Quote:

Originally Posted by brock85 (Post 1284589)
Hmmm how do I go about setting up a keyboard split? Or set the pads to a different range for that matter...

Thanks :)


brock85 2013-04-09 18:29

Thanks! That definitely helps explain how to create the split. The big drawback is now the lack of octave shift available, as dropping an octave on the keyboard means the keys become drums which isn't exactly what I am after.

I'm assuming there is no way to control 2 entirely separate instruments at the same time giving full octaves on the keys and full drums on the pads? The MPK25 has 4 pad banks which work in the same way as the octave shift buttons.

Knoeier 2013-04-09 18:47

1 Attachment(s)
I've set up something like this on my Axiom Pro.
This setup works like you want because i can change what midi notes the pads send. I would be surprised if you wouldn't be able to change the notes on the pads on your Akai.

What i did was:

I made sure the pads sent notes C0 to G#0
My keyboard was set to sent from C1 up.

Then i made 2 zones in the combinator. C0 to G#0 for the drum machine of choice (kong), C1 and up for a synth.

Now, kong doesn't usually respond to C0, but i used the transpose function within the combinator to make sure the pads would hit the right notes on the kong.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:12.