Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   "Reason has a rack for..." (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=182145)

Zbig 2013-05-03 16:38

"Reason has a rack for..."
 
Hello everyone

Since the introduction of the Rack Extentions, Props readily use the "Reason has a rack for..." catchphrase all over the place in pretty much all of their marketing material. As a non-native English speaker, I'm not sure I get this. I mean, I think I know what they meant, but I'm still not sure about this and I never heard or read anyone saying anything like that. http://www.thefreedictionary.com/rack gave me such gems like these:
  • A state of intense anguish
  • A pair of antlers
  • To cause great physical or mental suffering
  • destruction; wreck
  • An instrument of torture on which the victim's body was stretched
  • A wholesale rib cut of lamb or veal between the shoulder and the loin
Really? Ok, maybe my selection is a bit skewed, agreed, but still, nothing among the lines of "to specialize in...", "to be crazy about..." or anything remotely related to what I feel they mean. Anyone care to explain what's the deal here?

Regards,
Zbig

JordProd 2013-05-03 17:03

The Rack is the actual screen in reason that houses all the devices .. (F6)


and this is what a real rack looks like
http://www.kc4pe.com/view%20audio%20rack.jpg

so ... reason has a rack for.. everything.
now u get it?

Zbig 2013-05-03 17:21

Hmm.. yeah, I'm aware of the most common meaning, like a server rack, but it still doesn't sound quite right to me. Let's say there's a electronic test equipment company. When dealing with electronics, you usually work on a bench. Would it sound right to you if they said they "have a bench for measuring voltage" ("Reason has a rack for mixing")? Ah, never mind, maybe it's just me ;)

P.S.
Just realized, they probably thought just a little too hard while trying to come up with Apple's "There's an app for that" equivalent :)

SynthBear 2013-05-03 17:48

It's a total train rack! Get it... "rack"?... huh...ya...

CrisM 2013-05-03 18:58

I think they want to say that Reason has many devices with many features. Or, that Reason has a big collection of Rack Extensions that's growing every day. Kinda: "Our Rack support everything you throw at it! It's big as hell!" :P

Lets analyze the last marketing vĂ­deos:

"Reason has a rack to inspire" (hum..the rack can give that inspiration, maybe..)

"Reason has a rack for instruments" (this one is pretty obvious)

"Reason has a rack for mixing" (some controls of the Main Mixer and Sequencer are on the rack..not all of them..)

"Reason has a rack for you get lost" (JUST KIDDING!! :D PRESS SEQ/RACK ON A MIXER CHANNEL!)

nickmorgan19457 2013-05-03 19:14

Basically, pre-Reason, which was one of the first soft-synths, most people have to deal with racks like this one:http://www.telefunken-elektroakustik...oom-rack-1.jpg
Copious amounts of patching, high power requirements, and complete immobility. Also a lack of consistency. No two people had the same rack, so you could never be sure what you'd be using when you showed up at another person's rig.
And by "deal with" I mean "dream of", as most people had to deal with racks like one of these:
http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3292/2...699_z.jpg?zz=1

Done84 2013-05-05 17:14

I think beyond the obvious its also a bit of a joke, playing with the famous catch-frase by Apple made when iPhone 3G was released.. "There is an app fot that..."
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=szrsfeyLzyg


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:25.