Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   NO TUTORIAL for this! HELP! (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=182353)

djziri 2013-05-06 08:41

NO TUTORIAL for this! HELP!
 
I just made the switch from Live to reason and I loooooooove it! BUT! One thing I cant seem to figure out is how to search my drum samples (wav) without using my drum machines... For example to just use a raw kick sample from my vengeance library and drop it into a audio track. That part is easy, but I cant find an efficient way to sample through multiple wavs at a time and get a quick file preview of the sound! I know I could skim through in redrum, and then search the file on macs finder window and drag and drop but is that really the EASIEST way?

friday 2013-05-06 09:28

No live audio import...
 
As far as I know... you can only import smples to audio tracks when reason is not playing back. So the only fast way to switch through your kick's is to use a sampler (kong, redrum, nnxt, nn19). And for a kick, it is the bether solution because of the direct sample manipulation options of a sampler. But I also will see "direct live sample import" for loops to audio tracks, that would be cool and a needed feature, after Reason 7 can direct slice audio!

https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/...d.php?t=181294

Kiss Kiss Bäng Bäng

Ambientdave 2013-05-06 09:38

Hi Bud
Welcome to Reasonhttps://www.propellerheads.se/forum/...ons/icon10.gif

Ok, good thing here is to use the NN-XT,or the NN-19 sampler,as an example.click on the middle button, on the sampler this will bring up its window pane

And you will see a smaller window, named locations and favorites on the left hand side
From there you can view your wav samples where you put then say on your hard drive,folder etc

Even load them into the sampler and play on you keyboard

check out my 2 drop box pictures

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/35047995/button.JPG
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/.../locations.JPG

matt9the9cat 2013-05-06 12:19

This is one thing that Reason still lacks. I would like to see a full time audio browser for Reason such as you find in Reaper or ACID. I agree that it is frustrating and it interrupts workflow to have to go through one of Reasons instruments or to use the import function to search your sample libraries. I started out making music with ACID back in '99 and always having my sample library open to browse and preview sounds while I was working on a track was a huge help with inspiration and work flow. I wonder if anyone has suggested this in the Feature Suggestion forum. I think I'll go take a look.

friday 2013-05-06 14:00

I did a Feature Suggestion, but my english is bad and so I could not bring enough emotion in the subject :-)

https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/...d.php?t=181294

selig 2013-05-06 17:05

FWIW:
You can currently browse while playing the track if you have a controller with a transport. Simply open the "import audio" window then hit play on your controller. :-)

matt9the9cat 2013-05-06 20:19

Curious to try this now. Thanks, Selig!

matt9the9cat 2013-05-06 20:50

So it works, but there is a catch. For some reason 'import audio' is not available to click on from the drop down menu when the song is playing, but if you press ctrl+Shift+I (the keyboard command for 'import audio') while the song is playing the program has no problem obeying the command. Strange, but this is a fairly decent workaround (and I like keyboard commands better anyway). Thanks again, Selig!

friday 2013-05-07 16:32

Quote:

Originally Posted by selig (Post 1308327)
FWIW:
You can currently browse while playing the track if you have a controller with a transport. Simply open the "import audio" window then hit play on your controller. :-)

good to know I'm going to try it... THX!


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:24.