Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Instrument volume control vs mix channel gain (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=184976)

ianfoster 2013-06-16 19:58

Instrument volume control vs mix channel gain

Hi all,

I've had a trawl through existing posts and I can't seem to find anything that answers this (hopefully) simple question.

I'm very new to mixing, and I'm struggling to understand the difference between the master volume control on an instrument, and the gain control on the mix channel for that device. What level should you aim to set the instrument volume at, and how should the gain be positioned? Should I aim to get the instrument volume as loud as possible (without clipping) with the gain set to 0, or is there a better approach?

Thanks for any help you can give - sorry if this is a dumb question :)

Ian

selig 2013-06-16 21:52

Quote:

Originally Posted by ianfoster (Post 1339056)
Hi all,

I've had a trawl through existing posts and I can't seem to find anything that answers this (hopefully) simple question.

I'm very new to mixing, and I'm struggling to understand the difference between the master volume control on an instrument, and the gain control on the mix channel for that device. What level should you aim to set the instrument volume at, and how should the gain be positioned? Should I aim to get the instrument volume as loud as possible (without clipping) with the gain set to 0, or is there a better approach?

Thanks for any help you can give - sorry if this is a dumb question :)

Ian

Here's my approach, which folks around here are probably getting tired of hearing by now!

I try to aim for a peak level of -12 dBFS for everything coming into the SSL mixer.