Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Run Reason 5 on Linux EASILY! (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=185610)

DJYoshaBYD 2013-06-27 22:44

Run Reason 5 on Linux EASILY!
 
So, I have been working on getting Reason 5 running through Wine on Linux machines. If anyone has tried before, then you know that the top menus are not clickable, so to save, open, etc., you have to use keyboard shortcuts.

I found a patch on WineHQ that fixed the issue, but didnt make it into the main branch, so I compiled it myself and tested a script.

Im happy to report that Reason 5 now runs on Linux just fine, with full features, using Wine and PlayOnLinux.

PlayOnLinux is simply a front-end for Wine that allows easier configuration through use of scripts.

If you have a linux machine, and want to try it, go for it. If you have any issues, please stop by our forums at www.playonlinux.com

NOTE* This is not an advertisement. We are a non-profit, open-source project, and Im a huge audiophile. haha. This just made my studio complete.
:) I hope this helps others.

http://www.playonlinux.com/en/supported_apps.html

DJYoshaBYD 2013-06-27 22:45

Screenshots running in Linux:

http://djyoshabyd.quicktech209.com/r.../Reason5-1.png

http://djyoshabyd.quicktech209.com/r.../Reason5-2.png

http://djyoshabyd.quicktech209.com/r.../Reason5-3.png

phasys 2013-06-28 10:55

That would be an illegal copy of Reason 5, right?

reasoner498 2013-06-28 13:40

Quote:

Originally Posted by phasys (Post 1347306)
That would be an illegal copy of Reason 5, right?

It doesn't have to be, but of course, you already know that...

Grumbleweed 2013-06-28 15:01

Quote:

Originally Posted by phasys (Post 1347306)
That would be an illegal copy of Reason 5, right?

Aren't they all? ;).

Grum.

Mate 2013-06-28 15:02

Quote:

Originally Posted by Grumbleweed (Post 1347466)
Aren't they all? ;).

Grum.

Until Reason 6 they are! :D

DJYoshaBYD 2013-06-28 19:51

No. It works on paid versions just fine. The problem with 6 and above working through Linux is the DRM that is now in place. I cant get it to function correctly in WINE, so 5 was about the best that I could do, which is still a great program and functional as all hell.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:37.