Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   Feature Suggestion Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Midi clock out on multiple ports (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=191259)

phormz 2013-08-27 00:47

Midi clock out on multiple ports
 
Hey all :)

In our studio, we use Reason 7 alongside Logic Pro, Maschine and a lot of analogue outboard such as Moogerfoogers etc. We're also very much into our modular synths. This being the case, we always need to synchronise more than one piece of kit to midi clock.

We've been dipping in and out of Reason ever since the very first version, and the addition of midi out (WOOP!!) gave us the idea of putting Reason at the centre of everything in the studio with the option to carry on working on the laptop when out and about.

However, as it turns out, the current system of only being able to choose a single midi port to output midi clock is (for us) bordering on useless. With Logic, we've been used to sending midi clock to all 8 ports on our midi interface.

I know our requirements aren't that niche ...There must be a huge number of people who agree this is a bit of a show stopper?? ...I see on another post that others have experienced the bug with syncing to Maschine. Yes, I have that too ...and it's annoying, but there's ways around that by changing our workflow to suit. Unfortunately tho, short of buying more gear, there's no workaround for this midi clock issue.

As I've expressed in my previous posts to this forum, I find Logic so immensely frustrating and want to use Reason as it's waaaay more fun and creative ...but unbelievably, Logic still has basic functionality on it's side and gets the job done.

Thanks for reading :)

tonewrek 2013-08-28 03:09

I asked for the same thing. I have multiple pieces of outboard gear I would like to sync up!! Currently I can only sync my Virus TI. I have 3 other modules that allow Midi sync!!

tscharf 2013-08-28 05:07

Agreed - this is absolutely a show stopper! Every piece of hardware in my studio needs a clock for something it seems and running it all as a single thru chain is impractical. This really needs to be fixed.

Propellerheads has finally started thinking outside of the box with the MIDI out functions; Now they just need to take it the rest of the way.

katerli1 2013-08-30 16:36

Quote:

Originally Posted by tscharf (Post 1381432)
Agreed - this is absolutely a show stopper! Every piece of hardware in my studio needs a clock for something it seems and running it all as a single thru chain is impractical. This really needs to be fixed.

Propellerheads has finally started thinking outside of the box with the MIDI out functions; Now they just need to take it the rest of the way.

I have similar Problems. I would be greatful if the props would fix that.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:14.