Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   Feature Suggestion Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Ability to use Mouse Wheel to Scroll device lists (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=191287)

ProfessaKaos 2013-08-27 18:20

Ability to use Mouse Wheel to Scroll device lists
 
I'd love to have the ability to use the Mouse Wheel to Scroll the device lists.
Here's a pic showing the only current way of scrolling the device lists. Which is by clicking the little arrow (circled red) at the bottom of the list, there is also one at the top of the list.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...ice%20list.jpg

gwynebiau 2013-08-30 03:43

Few people have as many REs as you (congrats again by the way!), but I agree that with the future in mind the menus really need an update to make large numbers of devices easier to handle. :)

joeyluck 2013-08-30 04:29

Hehe I don't have enough REs to cause that issue.

However, I always use the tool window and you can scroll through that...

ProfessaKaos 2013-08-30 08:20

Quote:

Originally Posted by gwynebiau (Post 1382370)
Few people have as many REs as you (congrats again by the way!), but I agree that with the future in mind the menus really need an update to make large numbers of devices easier to handle. :)

Hahaha Thanks. I thought it would be the case so like you said I was thinking for the of other users. A simple scroll of the mouse wheel would make my life and the future of other users life much easier.

ProfessaKaos 2013-08-30 08:26

Quote:

Originally Posted by joeyluck (Post 1382389)
Hehe I don't have enough REs to cause that issue.

However, I always use the tool window and you can scroll through that...

The Tool Window is a cool suggestion thanks, although I only ever use it (cause I forget about it) for when I've bounced a clip to REX, other then that I always keep it closed as it tends to get it the way IMO.

joeyluck 2013-08-30 17:58

Quote:

Originally Posted by ProfessaKaos (Post 1382438)
The Tool Window is a cool suggestion thanks, although I only ever use it (cause I forget about it) for when I've bounced a clip to REX, other then that I always keep it closed as it tends to get it the way IMO.

It can get in the way. But I am very used to hitting F8 to make it appear, dragging and dropping what I need into the rack, and then hitting hitting F8 again to hide it.

For me, I work more quickly with the tool window. When I would try to work quickly with the dropdown menu, I would often click on the wrong device by accident (and sometimes devices are called very similar things, so it helps me to see them). Also, I find it easier to have a device end up where I want it to when I drag and drop (as opposed to needing to make sure the right area is highlighted before I used the "Create..." option.

But, different workflows for different folks... It's cool that they have both options.

Still though, just voicing this option as an "in the meantime solution," as I agree they should include the feature to use a scroll wheel to scroll the dropdown menu—it makes sense.

ProfessaKaos 2013-08-30 18:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by joeyluck (Post 1382634)
It can get in the way. But I am very used to hitting F8 to make it appear, dragging and dropping what I need into the rack, and then hitting hitting F8 again to hide it."

"Still though, just voicing this option as an "in the meantime solution," as I agree they should include the feature to use a scroll wheel to scroll the dropdown menu—it makes sense.

I agree your method sounds like my best option, will take a little getting use to but I'm sure it will become second nature in no time. Cheers for the help mate

DisPlace 2013-08-30 20:07

Ecsacly... ! =)


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:41.