Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   rewire into sonar. Only 1 stereo pair available (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=55093)

djmach3 2002-11-07 01:56

rewire into sonar. Only 1 stereo pair available
 
Is it a sonar issue that you can only have
channels 1/2 out of rewire be routed as a
stereo pair into an audio track? Or is it
a rewire/reason thing?

Just curious. Anyone else annoyed by this?

andy

blank 2002-11-07 02:18

Re: rewire into sonar. Only 1 stereo pair available
 
:Is it a sonar issue that you can only have
:channels 1/2 out of rewire be routed as a
:stereo pair into an audio track? Or is it
:a rewire/reason thing?

It is both. When the ReWire slave identifies itself to the host it offers some 'recommendations': Who am I, what do I do, how many channels do I have and what kind of channels are they. And so on.

In the case of Reason, it goes "Hi, I'm Reason, I'm a softsynth thingy, I have one stereo pair and 62 mono channels".

HOWEVER...

This 'recommendation' is not intended as a direct order that must be followed. The host is free to do whatever it wants with it. 16 quadrophonic channels? Fine!

It appears however that most ReWire implementations take this recommendation a bit too seriously and does exactly what Reason says. But there are exceptions - as I understand, in DP it's fully configurable, and in Ableton Live there are more stereo pairs (non-configurable?).

I know that some are working to improve their implementations and looking at ways of adding more flexibility. I do not know if Cakewalk is one of these.

/Fred

djmach3 2002-11-07 02:52

Re: rewire into sonar. Only 1 stereo pair available
 
Thanks Fred. Interesting insight into the inner workings of rewire/reason.

Hope cakewalk are working to improve.

Andy.

lucille 2002-11-07 05:52

Re: finally, some insight on this, but...
 
You would think props would have taken a more
proactive role in the rewire situation. I mean, to
a large extent, the fate of the product is tied to
how well works with daws.

I also think it was really ass stupid for Sonar
and other hosts to set up a standard to accept
62 mono ins. Did anyone give this any thought--
well Ableton, I guess.

Can we surmise a special PH/Ableton link--I mean
Ableton uses only rewire and no vsti--wouldn't
you think the music press would be remotely interested in the stuff.

Markleford 2002-11-07 16:22

A SONAR work-around
 
:If you absolutely need another stereo pair in SONAR...

- Send your stereo Reason device out through two mono ReWire sends

- In SONAR, set up two audio tracks to receive each of these sends.

- Route these tracks to an Aux bus, pre-fader, and pan one each hard left and hard right. Turn down the output volume on the original tracks.

- Now the Aux bus will have your stereo Reason device output, so you can add effects to it.

All in theory, of course: it *should* be sample-accurate, but you'll hear phasing/flanging on the track if this isn't the case.


- m

djmach3 2002-11-07 23:10

Re: A SONAR work-around
 
:Ah, I like it. I normally do have them going to two hard panned channels but didn't think of turning the vol to zero and mixing them through an aux send. I've been putting the FX on the individual channels meaning 2 instances of each. This prevents that. Cool.

I nearly wrote a very sarcastic reply until I understood what you were talking about!
Like who wouldn't think of 2 seperate channels and hard panning them?!


Andy.

Markleford 2002-11-08 15:57

Re: A SONAR work-around
 
:I nearly wrote a very sarcastic reply until I understood what you were talking about!
:Like who wouldn't think of 2 seperate channels and hard panning them?!

Yeah, I hadn't thought of that recently myself, either, until a discussion about Vocoder routing in SONAR came up in the Cakewalk Developer.DirectX newsgroup: credit for the idea really goes to Angus of FXpansion!
- m


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:23.