Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Can not open reason engine .... Arrrgghh!!! (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=55733)

grimley 2002-12-02 06:14

Can not open reason engine .... Arrrgghh!!!
 
OK I am about to blow my brains out after spending the last 5 days trying to get Reason 2.0 (or 2.01), Cubase SX 1.05 and Recycle all installed on a new WinXP Pro installation: Athlon 1.4Ghz, 512 Mb.
I have tried every possible permutation of installation orders, upgrading to the latest versions of Reason 2.0 and Cubase SX (and then back to the old ones etc).
Everytime I finish installation, I can open Cubase SX or Reason fine. I can even rewire them. However, the second time I start Reason it asks for the CDs again and registration code (which I do). The third time I open Reason I get the error:
"Can not open Reason Engine. Please resintall to make sure the Reason engine is properly installed."
Then when I try to start Cubase SX i get an error message:
"Cubasesx.exe has experienced a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience."

What the hell is going on ... anyone? So much for spending Thanksgiving holidays writing music.

thral 2002-12-02 10:03

Re: Can not open reason engine .... Arrrgghh!!!
 
:"Cubasesx.exe has experienced a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience."
:

well, at least windows crashes politely now. :-)

Um.. hmm.. I can't think of anything really. You tried installing Reason last? Hmm..

Does Reason do the same thing if you do not install Cubase?

PhatRiff2 2003-04-06 14:09

Re: Can not open reason engine .... Arrrgghh!!!
 
hi
did you ever find a solution to this problem?
i am experiencing exactly the same with exactly the same programs

i've got a big recording session in two days and none of my progs will work


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:07.