Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Where is that juicy MIDI keyboard? (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=57303)

blank 2003-02-07 17:23

Where is that juicy MIDI keyboard?

I'm about to buy a used Korg Triton. For what, the sounds? Not really, but to get a decent controller keyboard for software synths.

The way I see it, there's this strange gap in the current MIDI keyboard market.

*** Why doesn't anyone attempt to make something that's not a made-in-China toy? ***

I'm talking 61/76/88 keys and a big panel with tons of faders and knobs, at least 16 of each, and preferably with LED displays next to each knob. A deluxe MIDI keyboard. But there isn't one. I've been playing keyboards for some 25 years and I just can't get used to these damn 49 key things... it's like being a jumbojet pilot and then somebody hands you a single seat Cessna and says "there, fly those 450 passengers to Paris now."

Yes, there are some 61-key USB-to-MIDI keyboards (Radium etc), but they're still cheapo (no aftertouch etc), and usually don't have the knobs and faders that the smaller models have. I want the keyboard quality/response/features found in a hardware synth... only I don't want the synth part.

Gimme a Korg Triton, lose the synth, cram the panel full of faders and knobs and weird controllers like the Midiman SurfaceOne, Roland D-beam, whatever.

I'm not expecting Evolution, M-Audio or Edirol to solve this, it's more of a Roland/Korg/Yamaha product. Don't they see a market here? I mean, if they want to be around in the future they'd better explore a niche that relates to the software synth market, and dedicated hardware synths isn't that niche. Or are they making toyish MIDI controllers as some kind of statement about software synths?