Propellerhead Forum

Propellerhead Forum (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum (read only) (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   MIDI guitar (https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/showthread.php?t=65188)

grim2nd 2003-10-15 06:59

MIDI guitar

Hi all, I think this is my first post on this site, even though I've been using Reason for the last 2 years.
I read the article about using a midi guitar, and was just wondering if anyone knows of any particulary good gear.
I'm also wondering about installation of the MIDI thing, because I'm not to interested in having to remove a pickup.

grim2nd 2003-10-15 07:03

Re: MIDI guitar

:Hi all, I think this is my first post on this site, even though I've been using Reason for the last 2 years.
:I read the article about using a midi guitar, and was just wondering if anyone knows of any particulary good gear.
:I'm also wondering about installation of the MIDI thing, because I'm not to interested in having to remove a pickup. But then again I'm also sick of using my tiny, unresponsive and generic three octave midi keyboard.

jonyo 2003-10-15 08:55

You could buy one of the roland-ready Fender strats with the GK2A pickup built in, or one of the really nic Brian Moore guitars with the roland compatible pickup built in. I have one of the strats, it's really nice. Mexican made, no bad construction like one the low end Fender Squire stuff. The newer GI-20 unit from Roland is good for use with computer stuff like Reason, as it just does MIDI conversion, and has no sounds of its own. If you do want a built in synth in the MIDI converter in addition to MIDI output, take a look at the slightly more expensive Roland GR-33. I have the older model before that, the GR-30, and it works pretty well.